included within the district of a local authority, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.

(2) Any reference in Part VII of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to V of this order.

# 8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITIES

- (1) Every community council named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

#### PART II

# Southland Regional Council

#### 9 SOUTHLAND REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council to be known as "The Southland Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Southland Region.

### 10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means—

- (a) The Southland United Council; and
- (b) The Southland Catchment Board and Regional Water Board: and
  - (c) The Southland District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (d) The Wallace District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (e) The Southland Pest Destruction Board; and
- (f) Subject to Part VI of this order, the Southland Harbour Board; and
  - (g) The Otautau River Board; and
  - (h) The Waimatuku River Board; and
  - (i) The Clutha-Central Otago United Council; and
  - (j) The West Coast United Council; and
- (k) The Otago Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
  - (I) The Westland District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (m) The Clutha District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (n) The Vincent District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (o) The Lake District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (p) The Central Otago Pest Destruction Board; and
  - (q) The South Otago Pest Destruction Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Southland Region" means the Southland Region in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Southland Region" means the Southland Region constituted by this order.

#### 11 CONSTITUENCIES

- (1) The Southland Region is hereby divided into 6 constituencies.
- (2) Those 6 constituencies are:
- (a) The Waikiwi Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11507 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (b) The Awarua Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11508 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
  - (c) The Gore Constituency, comprising the area delineated

- on S.O. Plan No. 11506 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (d) The Te Anau Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11503 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (e) The Hokonui Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11505 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (f) The Dome Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11504 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District.

## 12 MEMBERSHIP

The Southland Regional Council shall consist of 15 members, of whom:

- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Waikiwi Constituency; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Awarua Constituency; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Gore Constituency; and
- (d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Te Anau Constituency; and
- (e) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Hokonui Constituency; and
- (f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Dome Constituency.

#### 13 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Southland Regional Council:
- (a) The Returning Officer for the Awarua and Waikiwi Constituencies shall be the Returning Officer for the Invercargill City; and
- (b) The Returning Officer for the Gore Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Gore Borough; and
- (c) The Returning Officer for the Te Anau, Hokonui, and Dome Constituencies shall be the Returning Officer for the Southland County.
- (2) The first election of the Southland Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

# 14 FIRST MEETING

- (1) The principal administrative officer of the Southland Regional Council:
  - (a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and
- (b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.
- (2) The first meeting of the Southland Regional Council shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

#### 15 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Southland Regional Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 30 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Southland Regional Council.

# 16 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Southland Regional Council shall be:

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a regional council under—
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) The Urban Transport Act 1980; and
  - (iii) Any public Act relating to the Southland Regional