unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Southland Regional Council".

#### 26 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Southland Region.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
  - (a) The Southland United Council; and
- (b) The Southland Catchment Board and Regional Water Board: and
  - (c) The Waimatuku River Board: and
  - (d) The Otautau River Board; and
  - (e) The Southland Harbour Board; and
  - (f) The Southland Pest Destruction Board: and
  - (g) The Southland District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (h) The Wallace District Noxious Plants Authority.

## 27 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Southland Region shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Southland United Council; and
- (b) One member appointed by the Southland Harbour Board; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Southland Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (d) One member appointed jointly by the pest destruction board and the district noxious plants authorities, named in paragraphs (f) to (h) of clause 26(2) of this order; and
- (e) One member appointed jointly by the Waimatuku River Board and the Otautau River Board who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (f) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in paragraphs (a), (b) and (e) of clause 26(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (g) One officer appointed jointly by the pest destruction board and the district noxious plants authorities named in paragraphs (f) to (h) of clause 26(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (h) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 30 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (i) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 26(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

#### 28 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Southland Region or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

### 29 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Southland Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

# 30 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Southland Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Southland Regional Council.

#### 31 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Southland Region shall be the Southland United Council.

### 32 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The costs of the transitional committee for the Southland Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 26(2) of this order either:
- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988, bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.

(2) For the purpose of this clause the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the Southland Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the Southland Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

#### 33 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the Southland Region shall meet with each of the other transitional committees named in this order for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Southland Regional Council by this order.

#### **PART III**

#### Invercargill District

## 34 CONSTITUTION OF INVERCARGILL DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Invercargill District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11471 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District.

#### 35 INVERCARGILL DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Invercargill District Council", is hereby constituted for the Invercargill District.

#### 36 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Invercargill City Council; and
- (b) The Bluff Borough Council; and
- (c) The Southland County Council; and
- (d) Subject to Part VI of this order, the Southland Harbour Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### 37 WARDS

- (1) The Invercargill District is hereby divided into 9 wards.
- (2) Those 9 wards are:
- (a) The Northern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11476 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (b) The Gladstone Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11477 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
  - (c) The Glengarry Ward, comprising the area delineated on