- S.O. Plan No. 11478 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (d) The Central Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11475 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (e) The Strathern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11480 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (f) The Kew Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11473 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (g) The Otatara Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11474 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (h) The Bluff Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11472 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (i) The Bush Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11479 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District.

38 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Invercargill District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.
- (2) The members of the Invercargill District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Northern Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Gladstone Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Glengarry Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Central Ward; and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Strathern Ward; and
- (f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Kew Ward; and
- (g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Otatara Ward; and
- (h) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Bluff Ward; and
- (i) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Bush Ward.

39 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Invercargill District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Invercargill District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Invercargill City.
- (2) The first election of the Invercargill District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

40 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Invercargill District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the $14 \mathrm{th}$ day of November 1989.

41 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Invercargill District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 55 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Invercargill District Council.

42 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Invercargill District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Invercargill District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Invercargill District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps, and other harbour facilities formerly the responsibility of the Southland Harbour Board and transferred to the Invercargill District Council by Part VI of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

43 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Invercargill District Council shall be located in Invercargill.

44 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRE

The Invercargill District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain in Bluff, a service delivery centre, in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

45 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Bluff Ward, to be known as "The Bluff Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Otatara Ward, to be known as "The Otatara Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of that community; and
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Invercargill District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Invercargill District Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Invercargill City.
- (4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

46 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the Invercargill District shall be the land value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Invercargill District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Invercargill District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.

47 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

(1) The Invercargill District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the Invercargill District.