(k) The North Makarewa Domain Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### 84 WARDS

- (1) The Southland District is hereby divided into 12 wards.
- (2) Those 12 wards are:
- (a) The Te Anau Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11491 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (b) The Tuatapere Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11490 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (c) The Five Rivers Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11494 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (d) The Waikaia Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11499 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (e) The Otautau Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11493 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (f) The Wallacetown Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11495 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (g) The Waihopai Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11496 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (h) The Winton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11497 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (i) The Toetoes Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11498 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (j) The Te Tipua Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11501 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (k) The Riverton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11500 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (I) The Stewart Island Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11492 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District.

## **85 MEMBERSHIP**

- (1) The Southland District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.
- (2) The members of the Southland District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Te Anau Ward; and
- (b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Tuatapere Ward; and
- (c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Five Rivers Ward; and
- (d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waikaia Ward; and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Otautau Ward; and
- (f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Wallacetown Ward; and
- (g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waihopai Ward; and
- (h) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Winton Ward; and

- (i) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Toetoes Ward; and
- (j) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Te Tipua Ward; and
- (k) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Riverton Ward; and
- (I) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Stewart Island Ward.

## **86 FIRST ELECTION**

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Southland District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Southland District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Southland County.
- (2) The first election of the Southland District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

# **87 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Southland District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## **88 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Southland District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 103 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Southland District Council.

#### 89 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Southland District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—  $\,$ 
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Southland District Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Southland District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

### 90 FUNDS OF OHAI RAILWAY BOARD

- (1) All funds of the Ohai Railway Board, as at the 31st day of October 1989, and any future income from the operation of the Ohai Railway shall be used only for the purposes of that function.
- (2) If the Southland District Council resolves, at any time, to cease operating the Ohai Railway, all the net cash assets and the net proceeds from the disposal of the assets of that railway shall be expended only for the benefit of the area of the district of the Ohai Railway Board as at the date of its abolition.

### 91 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

Until the Southland District Council resolves otherwise, the administration headquarters of the Southland District Council shall be located in Invercargill.

## 92 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Southland District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain in:

- (a) Winton; and
- (b) Te Anau; and
- (c) Otautau; and