(b) That, at any time after the 1st day of July 1990, the amount payable by that Council to each constituent authority, pursuant to subclause (6) of this clause, may be increased or decreased or calculated in accordance with a formula not based upon a percentage.

23 REGIONAL PLANNING

- (1) The Taranaki Regional Council shall not be required to prepare a new regional planning scheme immediately.
- (2) The approved regional planning schemes and the proposed regional planning schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the approved, or as the case may be the proposed, regional planning scheme of the Taranaki Region.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its regional planning scheme or any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the Taranaki Regional Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Taranaki Regional Council, and may be adopted and acted upon by it.

24 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative regional civil defence plans of the former Taranaki Region, the Wanganui Region and the Tongariro Region shall continue in force in those areas included in the Taranaki Region until a new plan is approved for the whole region, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

25 VESTING OF PROPERTY

- (1) Except as otherwise provided in this order, all property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Taranaki Region is hereby vested in the corporation of the Taranaki Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than those former authorities named in paragraphs (t) to (y) of clause 10 of this order, and situated in a region in which that former authority is not also a former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the Taranaki Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

26 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Taranaki Regional Council by clause 25 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Taranaki Regional Council".

27 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Taranaki Region.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Taranaki United Council; and
- (b) The Taranaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (c) The Taranaki Harbours Board; and
 - (d) The Egmont District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (e) The Eltham District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (f) The Hawera District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (g) The North Taranaki District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (h) The Taranaki County-New Plymouth District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (i) The Patea District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Stratford District Noxious Plants Authority; and

- (k) The Clifton County Pest Destruction Board; and
- (I) The North Taranaki District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (m) The Stratford District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (n) The Waimate Plains District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (o) The Eltham District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (p) The Inglewood District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (q) The Egmont County Pest Destruction Board; and
- (r) The Hawera District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (s) The Patea District Pest Destruction Board.

28 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Taranaki Region shall consist of:

- (a) Three members appointed by the Taranaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (b) Three members appointed by the Taranaki United Council; and
- (c) One member appointed by the Taranaki Harbours Board; and
- (d) One member appointed jointly by the district noxious plants authorities and the pest destruction boards named in paragraphs (d) to (s) of clause 27(2) of this order;
- (e) One officer appointed by each local authority named in paragraphs (a) to (c) of clause 27(2) who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (f) One officer appointed jointly by the district noxious plants authorities and pest destruction boards named in paragraphs (d) to (s) of clause 27(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (g) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 31 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (h) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 27(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

29 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Taranaki Region or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

30 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Taranaki Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

31 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Taranaki Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Taranaki Regional Council.

32 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Taranaki Region shall be the Taranaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board.

33 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Taranaki Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 27(2) of this order on the following basis:

(a) The Taranaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board shall pay three eighths; and