- (b) The Taranaki United Council shall pay three eighths; and
  - (c) The Taranaki Harbours Board shall pay one eighth; and
- (d) The district noxious plants authorities and pest destruction boards to which this clause applies shall jointly pay one eighth.

## 34 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the Taranaki Region shall meet with:

- (a) Each of the other transitional committees specified in this order; and
  - (b) The Stratford District Council,
- for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Taranaki Regional Council by this order.

#### **PART III**

# New Plymouth District

# 35 CONSTITUTION OF NEW PLYMOUTH DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The New Plymouth District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S. O. Plan No. 13049 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District.

# 36 NEW PLYMOUTH DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The New Plymouth District Council", is hereby constituted for the New Plymouth District.

## **37 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The New Plymouth City Council; and
- (b) The North Taranaki District Council; and
- (c) The Inglewood District Council; and
- (d) The Clifton County Council; and
- (e) The Pukearuhe Domain Board; and
- (f) The Huirangi Domain Board; and
- (g) The Okato Domain Board; and
- (h) The Upper Mangorei Domain Board; and
- (i) Subject to Part VI of this order, the Taranaki Harbours Board.

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### 38 WARDS

- (1) The New Plymouth District is hereby divided into 8 wards:
- (2) Those 8 wards are:
- (a) The Clifton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13050 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (b) The Waitara Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13051 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (c) The Bell Block Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13052 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (d) The New Plymouth East Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13053 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (e) The New Plymouth Central Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13054 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
  - (f) The New Plymouth West Ward, comprising the area

delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13055 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:

- (g) The Inglewood Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13056 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (h) The Okato Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13057 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District.

#### 39 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The New Plymouth District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 16 members.
- (2) The members of the New Plymouth District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Clifton Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Waitara Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Bell Block Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the New Plymouth East Ward; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the New Plymouth Central Ward; and
- (f) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the New Plymouth West Ward; and
- (g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Inglewood Ward; and
- (h) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Okato Ward.

## **40 FIRST ELECTION**

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the New Plymouth District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the New Plymouth District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the New Plymouth City.
- (2) The first election of the New Plymouth District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

#### 41 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the New Plymouth District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## **42 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the New Plymouth District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 56 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the New Plymouth District Council.

# 43 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the New Plymouth District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the New Plymouth District Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the New Plymouth District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas,