(b) Two members appointed by the North Taranaki District Council; and

(c) One member appointed by the Inglewood District Council; and

(d) One member appointed by the Clifton County Council; and

(e) One officer appointed by each local authority named in clause 52(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(f) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 56 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(g) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 52(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

54 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the New Plymouth District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

55 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the New Plymouth District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

56 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the New Plymouth District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the New Plymouth District Council.

57 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the New Plymouth District shall be the New Plymouth City Council.

58 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the New Plymouth District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 52(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the 31st day of March 1988) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the New Plymouth District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at that date) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the New Plymouth District.

59 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

(1) The transitional committee for the New Plymouth District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the New Plymouth District Council.

(2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.

(3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the New Plymouth District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the New Plymouth District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART IV

Stratford District

60 CONSTITUTION OF STRATFORD DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Stratford District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S. O. Plan No. 13058 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District.

61 STRATFORD DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Stratford District Council", is hereby constituted for the Stratford District.

62 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means—
 - (a) The former Stratford District Council; and
 - (b) The Taumarunui County,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Stratford District" means the Stratford District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Stratford District Council" means the Stratford District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Stratford District" means the Stratford District constituted by this order:
- "Stratford District Council" means the Stratford District Council constituted by this order.

63 WARDS

(1) The Stratford District is hereby divided into 4 wards:

(2) Those 4 wards are:

(a) The Eastern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13059 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:

(b) The Central Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13060 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:

(c) The Stratford Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13061 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:

(d) The Western Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13062 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District.

64 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Stratford District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.

(2) Subject to the provisions of the Local Elections and Polls Act 1976 and the Local Government Act 1974, the mayor and those members of the former Stratford District Council who were first elected on the 28th day of March 1989 to represent:

- (a) The Eastern Ward; and
- (b) The Central Ward; and
- (c) The Stratford Ward; and
- (d) The Western Ward,

shall continue in office until the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be conducted in October 1992.