clause 146(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

- (e) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 150 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 146(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

148 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Manukau City or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

149 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Manukau City may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

150 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Manukau City shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Manukau City Council.

151 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Manukau City shall be the former Manukau City Council.

152 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Manukau City (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 146(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—
 - The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:
 - (i) The district of that local authority; or
 - (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Manukau City,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts or parts of the districts of local authorities included in the Manukau City by this Part of this order.

PART VIII

Papakura District

153 CONSTITUTION OF PAPAKURA DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Papakura District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63492 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

154 PAPAKURA DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Papakura District Council", is hereby constituted for the Papakura District.

155 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Papakura City Council; and
- (b) The Manukau City Council; and

- (c) The Franklin County Council; and
- (d) The Kirk's Bush Scenic Reserve Board; and
- (e) Subject to Part X of this order, the Auckland Harbour

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

156 WARDS

- (1) The Papakura District is hereby divided into 4 wards.
- (2) Those 4 wards are:
- (a) The Pahurehure Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63532 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Ardmore Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63533 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Red Hill Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63531 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Drury Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63530 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

157 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Papakura District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.
- (2) The members of the Papakura District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Pahurehure Ward; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Ardmore Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Red Hill Ward; and $\,$
- (d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Drury Ward. $\label{eq:constraint}$

158 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Papakura District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Papakura District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Papakura City.
- (2) The first election of the Papakura District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

159 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Papakura District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

160 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Papakura District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 172 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Papakura District Council.

161 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Papakura District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and