- (a) The Egmont Plains Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13064 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (b) The Eltham Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13065 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (c) The Tangahoe Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13067 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (d) The Hawera Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13066 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District:
- (e) The Patea Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 13068 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Taranaki Land District.

78 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The South Taranaki District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.
- (2) The members of the South Taranaki District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Egmont Plains Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Eltham Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Tangahoe Ward; and
- (d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Hawera Ward; and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Patea Ward.

79 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the South Taranaki District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the South Taranaki District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Hawera District.
- (2) The first election of the South Taranaki District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

80 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the South Taranaki District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

81 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the South Taranaki District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 97 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the South Taranaki District Council.

82 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the South Taranaki District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the South Taranaki District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the South Taranaki District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas,

wharves, jetties, boatramps, and other harbour facilities, formerly the responsibility of the Taranaki Harbours Board and transferred to the South Taranaki District Council by Part VI of this order, in respect of the Patea Harbour; and

(c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of those reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the date of commencement of this clause.

83 ELTHAM DRAINAGE AREA

The area of the former Eltham Drainage District is hereby deemed to be a drainage area constituted under section 504 of the Local Government Act 1974 to be known as "The Eltham Drainage Area".

84 ELTHAM DRAINAGE COMMITTEE

- (1) The South Taranaki District Council shall establish and maintain a committee to be known as "The Eltham Drainage Committee".
- (2) The functions of the Eltham Drainage Committee shall be:
- (a) To express the views of the ratepayers of the Eltham Drainage Area to the South Taranaki District Council; and
- (b) To perform such functions and exercise such powers, in respect of the Eltham Drainage Area, as may from time to time be delegated to it by the South Taranaki District Council.
- (3) The persons appointed by the South Taranaki District Council to the Eltham Drainage Committee established under subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Three members of the South Taranaki District Council; and
- (b) At least one member of the Stratford District Council; and
- (c) Four persons appointed by the South Taranaki District Council—
- (i) Who are ratepayers in respect of the Eltham Drainage Area; and
 - (ii) Who are not members of that Council; but
 - (iii) Who, in the opinion of the Council, have knowledge that will assist the work of the Committee.

85 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the South Taranaki District Council shall be located in Hawera.

86 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The South Taranaki District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain service delivery centres, in:

- (a) Patea; and
- (b) Eltham; and
- (c) Opunake; and
- (d) Manaia.

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

87 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Patea Ward, to be known as "The Patea Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Eltham Ward, to be known as "The Eltham Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Egmont Plains Ward, to be known as "The Egmont Plains Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of: