- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) Four persons elected from time to time as members of the South Taranaki District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the South Taranaki District Council to the community board.
- (3) There shall be constituted a community for the area of the Hawera Ward and the Tangahoe Ward, to be known as "The Hawera Community".
- (4) The community board for the Hawera Community shall consist of:
- (a) Four members elected by the electors of the Hawera Ward and two members elected by the electors of the Tangahoe Ward; and
- (b) Four persons elected, from time to time, as members of the South Taranaki District Council representing the Hawera Ward and the Tangahoe Ward, comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the South Taranaki District Council to the community board.
- (5) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Hawera District.
- (6) The first election for the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

88 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the South Taranaki District shall be the land value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the South Taranaki District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the South Taranaki District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.
- (3) Subject to section 103 of the Rating Powers Act 1988, until the 30th day of June 1994 the capital value rating system shall apply in:
- (a) the area of the former county of Waimate West as existing prior to its abolition by the Waimate West County-Manaia Town District Union Order 1987; and
- (b) the area of the Patea Rural Division of the former Patea District as defined in the Patea Borough—Patea County-Waverley Town District Union Order 1987; and
- (c) the area of the Ohangai and Okaiawa Wards of the former Hawera District; and
- (d) the area of the Kaponga Ward of the former Eltham District Council: and
- (e) that part of the former Wanganui County to be included within the South Taranaki District.

89 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

- (1) The South Taranaki District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the South Taranaki District.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme, of the South Taranaki District.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or of any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the South Taranaki District Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the South Taranaki District Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.
- (4) Where before the date of commencement of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any

- person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:
- (a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the South Taranaki District Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or
- (b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of such appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the South Taranaki District Council; or
- (c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by the former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the South Taranaki District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

90 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the South Taranaki District until a new plan is approved for the South Taranaki District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

91 VESTING OF PROPERTY

- (1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the South Taranaki District is hereby vested in the corporation of the South Taranaki District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) Except as otherwise provided in this order, all property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than the North Taranaki District Council and the Wanganui County Council, and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the South Taranaki District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

92 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the South Taranaki District Council by clause 91 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The South Taranaki District Council".

93 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities listed in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the South Taranaki District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) the Hawera District Council; and
 - (b) the Patea District Council; and
 - (c) the Eltham District Council; and
 - (d) the Waimate Plains District Council; and
 - (e) the Egmont County Council; and
 - (f) the Wanganui County Council.

94 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the South Taranaki District shall consist of:

- (a) Four members appointed by the Hawera District Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Patea District Council; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Eltham District Council; and