# The Local Government (Waikato Region) Reorganisation Order 1989

#### PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

#### ORDER IN COUNCIL

## At Wellington this 9th day of June 1989

## Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

## Analysis

1 Title and commencement 2 Elections 3 Communities PART I	<ul> <li>32 Obligation of transitional committee to appoint chief executive</li> <li>33 Principal local authority</li> <li>34 Costs of transitional committee</li> <li>35 Delegation of service delivery</li> </ul>
Waikato Region	PART III
4 Constitution of Waikato Region	Hamilton City
5 Constituent authorities	36 Constitution of Hamilton City
6 Dissolution of existing local authorities and abolition of existing districts	37 Hamilton City Council
7 References to former authority	38 Interpretation
8 Dissolution of existing district community councils and	39 Wards
community councils and abolition of communities	40 Membership
PART II	41 First election
Waikato Regional Council	42 First meeting
9 Waikato Regional Council	43 Chief executive
10 Interpretation	44 Functions, duties, and powers
11 Constituencies	45 Administration headquarters
12 Membership	46 Rating
13 First election	47 Town and country planning
14 First meeting	48 Civil defence
15 Chief executive	49 Vesting of property 50 Assets and liabilities
16 Functions, duties, and powers	51 Title to property
17 Drainage areas	PART IV
18 Rural services committee	
19 Auckland-Waikato Inter-Regional Committee	Waikato District
20 Joint committee	52 Constitution of Waikato District
21 Regional land transport committee	53 Waikato District Council
22 Administration headquarters	54 Interpretation 55 Wards
23 Rating	56 Membership
24 Regional planning	57 First election
25 Civil defence	58 First meeting
26 Vesting of property	59 Chief executive
27 Title to property	60 Functions, duties, and powers
28 Transitional committee	61 Administration headquarters
29 Membership of transitional committee	62 Service delivery centres
30 No casting vote	63 Communities
31 Exclusion of non-voting members	64 Rating