local authorities, and the members of the community boards for the communities, constituted by this order; and

- (b) For the purposes of clauses 28 to 35, 69 to 76, 95 to $102,\,119,\,152,\,170$ to $177,\,195$ to $202,\,220$ to $227,\,and\,250$ of this order; and
- (c) For the appointment of the principal administrative officers of those local authorities constituted by this order,

shall come into force on the making of this order.

2 ELECTIONS

Except as otherwise provided in Part XII of this order, the first elections of the local authorities, and the community boards for the communities, constituted by this order shall be held on the 14th day of October 1989.

3 COMMUNITIES

Each community constituted by this order shall come into existence on the day after the date on which the Returning Officer declares the result of the first election of members of the community board for that community, provided that no such community shall come into existence prior to the 1st day of November 1989.

PART I

Waikato Region

4 CONSTITUTION OF WAIKATO REGION

There is hereby constituted a region, to be known as "The Waikato Region", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58086 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

5 CONSTITUENT AUTHORITIES

The constituent authorities of the Waikato Region shall comprise:

- (a) The territorial authorities constituted by Parts III to XII of this order; and
- (b) In relation to any part of the Franklin District constituted by the Local Government (Auckland Region) Reorganisation Order 1989 that is within the Waikato Region, the Franklin District Council; and
- (c) In relation to any part of the Rotorua District constituted by the Local Government (Bay of Plenty) Reorganisation Order 1989 that is within the Waikato Region, the Rotorua District Council.

6 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING DISTRICTS

- (1) Every local authority named in Part I or Part II of the First Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

7 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

- (1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part, or, as the case may be, that function.
- (2) Any reference in Part XIII of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to XII of this order.

8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING DISTRICT COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF COMMUNITIES

(1) Every district community council and community council

named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.

(2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

PART I

Waikato Regional Council

9 WAIKATO REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Waikato Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Waikato Region.

10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means—

- (a) The Waikato United Council; and
- (b) The Thames Valley United Council; and
- (c) The Tongariro United Council; and
- (d) The Waikato Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (e) The Hauraki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (f) The Hamilton District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (g) The Waikato District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (h) The Raglan District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (i) The Waipa District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Otorohanga District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (k) The Waitomo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (I) The Thames-Coromandel District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (m) The Hauraki Plains District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (n) The Ohinemuri District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (o) The Piako District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (p) The Matamata District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (q) The Taupo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (r) The Waikato County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (s) The Raglan County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (t) The Waipa County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (u) The Otorohanga District Pest Destruction Board; and (v) The Waitomo District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (w) The Thames-Coromandel District Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (x) The Hauraki Plains County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (y) The Ohinemuri County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (z) The Piako County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (aa) The Matamata County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (ab) The Central North Island Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (ac) The Aka Aka-Otaua Drainage Board; and
 - (ad) The Taupiri Drainage and River Board; and
 - (ae) The Eureka Drainage Board; and
 - (af) The Fencourt Drainage Board; and
 - (ag) The Hautapu Drainage Board; and
 - (ah) The Te Rapa Drainage Board; and
 - (ai) The Rotomanuka Drainage Board; and
 - (aj) The Ohaupo-Ngaroto Drainage Board; and
 - (ak) The Tirohia-Rotokohu Drainage Board; and
 - (al) The Thames Valley Drainage Board; and
 - (am) The Auckland Regional Authority; and
 - (an) The Franklin-Manukau Pest Destruction Board; and