(ao) The South Auckland District Noxious Plants Authority; and

(ap) The Bay of Plenty Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and

- (aq) The Bay of Plenty United Council; and
- (ar) The Tauranga County Pest Destruction Board; and
- (as) The Tauranga District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (at) The Rotorua District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (au) The Taumarunui District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (av) The Taranaki United Council; and

(aw) The Clifton County Pest Destruction Board; and

(ax) The North Taranaki District Noxious Plants Authority,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Waikato Region" means the Waikato Region in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Waikato Region" means the Waikato Region constituted by this order.

11 CONSTITUENCIES

(1) The Waikato Region is hereby divided into 9 constituencies.

(2) Those 9 constituencies are:

(a) The Hamilton East Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58088 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(b) The Hamilton West Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58089 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(c) The North Waikato Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58087 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(d) The Waipa Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58090 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(e) The Northern King Country Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58091 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(f) The Thames-Coromandel Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58092 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(g) The Waihou Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58093 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(h) The South Waikato Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58094 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(i) The Taupo Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58095 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

12 MEMBERSHIP

The Waikato Regional Council shall consist of 16 members, of whom:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Hamilton East Constituency; and

(b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Hamilton West Constituency; and

(c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the North Waikato Constituency; and

(d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Waipa Constituency; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Northern King Country Constituency; and

(f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Thames-Coromandel Constituency; and

(g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Waihou Constituency; and

(h) One member shall be elected by the electors of the South Waikato Constituency; and

(i) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Taupo Constituency.

13 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Waikato Regional Council:

(a) The Returning Officer for the Hamilton East and Hamilton West Constituencies shall be the Returning Officer for the Hamilton City; and

(b) The Returning Officer for the North Waikato Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Waikato County; and

(c) The Returning Officer for the Waipa Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Te Awamutu Borough; and

(d) The Returning Officer for the Northern King Country Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Waitomo District; and

(e) The Returning Officer for the Thames-Coromandel Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Thames-Coromandel District; and

(f) The Returning Officer for the Waihou Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Matamata Borough; and

(g) The Returning Officer for the South Waikato Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Tokoroa Borough; and

(h) The Returning Officer for the Taupo Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Taupo District.

(2) The first election of the Waikato Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

14 FIRST MEETING

 $\left(1\right)$ The principal administrative officer of the Waikato Regional Council:

(a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and

(b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.

(2) The first meeting of the Waikato Regional Council shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

15 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Waikato Regional Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 32 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Waikato Regional Council.

16 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

(1) The functions, duties, and powers of the Waikato Regional Council shall be:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a regional council under—

- (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
- (ii) The Urban Transport Act 1980; and
- (iii) Any public Act relating to the Waikato Regional Council or any of the former authorities and not expressly referred to in this clause; and
- (iv) Any local Act relating to the Waikato Regional Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to regional planning of a regional council under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and