- (c) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to maritime planning of a maritime planning authority under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and
- (d) The functions, duties, and powers of a catchment board and a regional water board under the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941 and the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967 or any other Act; and
- (e) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to civil defence of a regional council under the Civil Defence Act 1983 or any other Act; and
- (f) The functions, duties, and powers of a pest destruction board under the Agricultural Pests Destruction Act 1967 or any other Act; and
- (g) The functions, duties, and powers of a district noxious plants authority under the Noxious Plants Act 1978 or any other Act; and
- (h) In respect of the area of the Taupiri Drainage and River District, the functions, duties, and powers of the Taupiri Drainage and River Board under the Taupiri Drainage and River District Act 1929 or any other Act; and
- (i) In respect of those drainage areas listed in clause 17(1) of this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974.
- (2) For the purposes of subclause (1)(i) of this clause, any reference in Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974 to:
 - "Council" shall be deemed to include the Waikato Regional Council:
 - "District" shall be deemed to include the Waikato Region.

17 DRAINAGE AREAS

- (1) The areas of the following former drainage districts are hereby deemed to be drainage areas constituted under section 504 of the Local Government Act 1974:
 - (a) The Aka Aka-Otaua Drainage District; and
 - (b) The Taupiri Drainage and River District; and
 - (c) The Eureka Drainage District; and
 - (d) The Fencourt Drainage District; and
 - (e) The Hautapu Drainage District; and
 - (f) The Te Rapa Drainage District; and
 - (g) The Rotomanuka Drainage District; and
 - (h) The Ohaupo-Ngaroto Drainage District; and
 - (i) The Tirohia-Rotokohu Drainage District; and
 - (j) The Thames Valley Drainage District.
- (2) Notwithstanding anything else in this order, the provisions of the Taupiri Drainage and River District Act 1929 shall, with the necessary modifications, continue to apply to the area of the former Taupiri Drainage and River District.

18 RURAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

- (1) The Waikato Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a Rural Services Committee.
- (2) The Rural Services Committee shall be responsible for:
 - (a) Agricultural pests destruction; and
 - (b) Noxious plants control; and
- (c) Any other functions considered by the Waikato Regional Council to be of particular concern to the rural community.
- (3) The persons appointed by the Waikato Regional Council to the Rural Services Committee established under this clause shall include not less than 2 persons:
 - (a) Who are not members of that Council; but
- (b) Who, in the opinion of the Council, have knowledge that will assist the work of the Committee.

19 AUCKLAND-WAIKATO INTER-REGIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The Waikato Regional Council and the Auckland Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, unite in appointing a joint committee to be known as "The Auckland-Waikato Inter-Regional Committee".
- (2) The Auckland-Waikato Inter-Regional Committee shall consist of:
- (a) Three persons appointed by the Waikato Regional Council; and
- (b) Three persons appointed by the Auckland Regional Council.
- (3) The functions of the Auckland-Waikato Inter-Regional Committee shall be:
- (a) To consider and report to the Waikato Regional Council and the Auckland Regional Council on all matters which are functions of either regional council and which have a significance to both regions; and
- (b) To co-ordinate action on such other matters as may be referred to the Committee by either regional council.

20 JOINT COMMITTEE

The Waikato Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, unite with the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, the Hawke's Bay Regional Council, the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council and the Taranaki Regional Council in appointing a joint committee, comprising an equal number of representatives of those councils, for the purposes of:

- (a) Co-ordinating planning for the control of those agricultural pests and noxious plants of particular concern in relation to their regions; and
- (b) Co-ordinating action on such other matters as those councils are jointly interested in.

21 REGIONAL LAND TRANSPORT COMMITTEE

- (1) The Waikato Regional Council shall establish and maintain a Regional Land Transport Committee.
- (2) The Regional Land Transport Committee shall be responsible for:
- (a) Regional roading under Part XXII of the Local Government Act 1974; and
- (b) Such transport or other roading responsibilities as may from time to time, pursuant to any Act, become a function of a regional council; and
- (c) Such other functions as the Waikato Regional Council considers appropriate.

22 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Waikato Regional Council shall be located in Hamilton.

23 RATING

- (1) Without limiting the powers of the Waikato Regional Council under the Rating Powers Act 1988 to make and levy any rate under a different system of rating, the system of rating in the Waikato Region shall be the capital value system.
- (2) The Waikato Regional Council shall exercise within the Waikato Region or any part thereof:
- (a) Any rating powers possessed by any former authority; and
- (b) Any powers to make and levy assessments relating to the functions and powers possessed by any former authority.
- (3) Subject to subclause (7) of this clause, and until at least the 30th day of June 1992, all rates made by the Waikato Regional Council shall be levied and collected by the constituent authorities of the Waikato Region as if an agreement had been made under section 127(1) of the Rating Powers Act 1988.