- (4) Where a rate to which subclause (3) of this clause applies has been made on a different rating system to that which applies in the district of the constituent authority by which the rate is to be collected, that rate shall be levied and collected by the constituent authority:
- (a) On the system of rating in force in the district of the constituent authority; or
- (b) On the system of rating upon which the rate was made by the Waikato Regional Council.
- (5) Where any rate to which subclause (3) of this clause applies is made by the Waikato Regional Council in respect of an area of benefit, it shall be levied and collected by the constituent authority or authorities within which that area of benefit is located and, where appropriate, according to any graduated scale applying to that rate.
- (6) Subject to subclause (7) of this clause, the Waikato Regional Council shall, for the purpose of:
- (a) Reimbursing each constituent authority for costs incurred in the levying and collecting of rates (including goods and services tax); and
- (b) Paying reasonable remuneration for clerical and other work,

pay to each constituent authority an amount equal to 2 percent of the total amount of rates, including goods and services tax, collected by that constituent authority on behalf of that Council.

- (7) The Waikato Regional Council and the constituent authorities may, by unanimous agreement, resolve:
- (a) That, at any time after the 1st day of July 1990, that Council shall levy and collect all or any rates directly; or
- (b) That, at any time after the 1st day of July 1990, the amount payable by that Council to each constituent authority, pursuant to subclause (6) of this clause, may be increased or decreased or calculated in accordance with a formula not based upon a percentage.

24 REGIONAL PLANNING

- (1) The Waikato Regional Council shall not be required to prepare a new regional planning scheme immediately.
- (2) The approved regional planning schemes and the proposed regional planning schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the approved or, as the case may be, the proposed regional planning scheme of the Waikato Region.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its regional planning scheme or any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the Waikato Regional Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Waikato Regional Council, and may be adopted and acted upon by it.

25 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative regional civil defence plans of the Auckland, Thames Valley, Bay of Plenty, Tongariro, Taranaki and former Waikato Regions shall continue in force in those areas included in the Waikato Region until a new plan is approved for the whole region, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

26 VESTING OF PROPERTY

- (1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Waikato Region is hereby vested in the corporation of the Waikato Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than those former authorities named in paragraphs (am) to (ax) of clause 10 of this order, and situated in a region in which that former authority is not

also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Waikato Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

27 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Waikato Regional Council by clause 26 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Waikato Regional Council".

28 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Waikato Region.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Waikato United Council; and
 - (b) The Thames Valley United Council; and
 - (c) The Tongariro United Council; and
- (d) The Waikato Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (e) The Hauraki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (f) The Hamilton District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (g) The Waikato District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (h) The Raglan District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (i) The Waipa District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Otorohanga District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (k) The Waitomo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (I) The Thames-Coromandel District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (m) The Hauraki Plains District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (n) The Ohinemuri District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (o) The Piako District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (p) The Matamata District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (q) The Taupo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (r) The Waikato County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (s) The Raglan County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (t) The Waipa County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (u) The Otorohanga District Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (v) The Waitomo District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (w) The Thames-Coromandel District Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (x) The Hauraki Plains County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (y) The Ohinemuri County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (z) The Piako County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (aa) The Matamata County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (ab) The Central North Island Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (ac) The Aka Aka-Otaua Drainage Board; and
 - (ad) The Taupiri Drainage and River Board; and
 - (ae) The Eureka Drainage Board; and
 - (af) The Fencourt Drainage Board; and
 - (ag) The Hautapu Drainage Board; and
 - (ah) The Te Rapa Drainage Board; and
 - (ai) The Rotomanuka Drainage Board; and
 - (aj) The Ohaupo-Ngaroto Drainage Board; and
 - (ak) The Tirohia-Rotokohu Drainage Board; and
 - (al) The Thames Valley Drainage Board.