29 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Waikato Region shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Waikato United Council; and
- (b) One member appointed by the Thames Valley United Council: and
- (c) One member appointed by the Tongariro United Council; and
- (d) Two members appointed by the Waikato Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (e) Two members appointed by the Hauraki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (f) One member appointed jointly by the district noxious plants authorities and the pest destruction boards named in paragraphs (f) to (ab) of clause 28(2) of this order; and
- (g) One member appointed jointly by the drainage boards named in paragraphs (ac) to (al) of clause 28(2) of this order; and
- (h) One officer appointed by each local authority named in paragraphs (a) to (e) of clause 28(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (i) One officer appointed jointly by the district noxious plants authorities and the pest destruction boards named in paragraphs (f) to (ab) of clause 28(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (j) One officer appointed jointly by the drainage boards named in paragraphs (ac) to (al) of clause 28(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (k) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 32 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (I) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 28(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

30 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Waikato Region or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

31 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Waikato Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

32 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Waikato Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Waikato Regional Council.

33 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Waikato Region shall be the Waikato Catchment Board and Regional Water Board.

34 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The costs of the transitional committee for the Waikato Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 28(2) of this order either:
- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—
 - The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority, for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988, bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.
- (2) For the purpose of this clause the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the Waikato Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the Waikato Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

35 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the Waikato Region shall meet with:

- (a) Each of the other transitional committees specified in this order; and
 - (b) The transitional committee for the Franklin District; and
 - (c) The following territorial authorities—
 - (i) The Hamilton City Council; and
 - (ii) The Otorohanga District Council; and
 - (iii) The Waitomo District Council; and
 - (iv) The Thames-Coromandel District Council; and
 - (v) The Taupo District Council; and
 - (vi) The Rotorua District Council; and
- (d) Each of the former authorities named in paragraphs (ac) to (al) of clause 10 of this order,

for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Waikato Regional Council by this order.

PART III

Hamilton City

36 CONSTITUTION OF HAMILTON CITY

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Hamilton City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57982 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

37 HAMILTON CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Hamilton City Council", is hereby constituted for the Hamilton City.

38 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means—
 - (a) The former Hamilton City Council; and
 - (b) The Waikato County Council; and
 - (c) The Waipa County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Hamilton City" means the Hamilton City in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Hamilton City Council" means the Hamilton City Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Hamilton City" means the Hamilton City constituted by this order:
- "Hamilton City Council" means the Hamilton City Council constituted by this order.