vested in the corporation of the Hamilton City Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

#### **50 ASSETS AND LIABILITIES**

In respect of the constitution of the Hamilton City and notwithstanding anything in clause 250 of this order, there shall be no apportionment of assets and liabilities, including loan liabilities.

## **51 TITLE TO PROPERTY**

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Hamilton City Council by clause 49 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Hamilton City Council".

## PART IV

#### Waikato District

## **52 CONSTITUTION OF WAIKATO DISTRICT**

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Waikato District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57988 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

#### **53 WAIKATO DISTRICT COUNCIL**

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Waikato District Council", is hereby constituted for the Waikato District.

#### **54 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Waikato County Council; and
- (b) The Raglan County Council; and
- (c) The Waipa County Council; and
- (d) The Huntly Borough Council; and
- (e) The Ngaruawahia Borough Council; and
- (f) The Raglan Harbour Board; and
- (g) The Ohinewai Domain Board; and
- (h) The Raglan Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Te Mata Recreation Reserve Board; and

(j) The Te Uku and District Memorial Recreation Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### 55 WARDS

(1) The Waikato District is hereby divided into 11 wards.

(2) Those 11 wards are:

(a) The Maungakawa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57991 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(b) The Whangamarino Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57989 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(c) The Whangape Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57990 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(d) The Huntly Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57992 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(e) The Ngaruawahia Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57993 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(f) The Hukanui Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57994 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(g) The Newcastle Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57997 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(h) The Raglan Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57999 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(i) The Whaingaroa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57998 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(j) The Eureka Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57995 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(k) The Tamahere Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57996 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

## **56 MEMBERSHIP**

(1) The Waikato District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 14 members.

(2) The members of the Waikato District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Maungakawa Ward; and

(b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Whangamarino Ward; and

(c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Whangape Ward; and

(d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Huntly Ward; and

(e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Ngaruawahia Ward; and

(f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Hukanui Ward; and

(g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Newcastle Ward; and

(h) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Raglan Ward; and

(i) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Whaingaroa Ward; and

(j) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Eureka Ward; and

(k) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Tamahere Ward.

#### **57 FIRST ELECTION**

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Waikato District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Waikato District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Waikato County.

(2) The first election of the Waikato District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

#### **58 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Waikato District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

# **59 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

(1) The Chief Executive of the Waikato District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 73 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Waikato District Council.