60 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Waikato District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Waikato District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Waikato District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of the Raglan Harbour Board; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

61 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

Until the Waikato District Council otherwise resolves, the administration headquarters of that Council shall be located in Hamilton.

62 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Waikato District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Huntly; and
- (b) Ngaruawahia; and
- (c) Raglan,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

63 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Huntly Ward, to be known as "The Huntly Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Ngaruawahia Ward, to be known as "The Ngaruawahia Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Raglan Ward, to be known as "The Raglan Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) \left(1\right$
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Waikato District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Waikato District Council to the community board.
- (3) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following areas:
- (a) A community to be known as "The Meremere Community", comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58098 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District; and
- (b) A community to be known as "The Te Kauwhata Community", comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58096 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District; and
- (c) A community to be known as "The Taupiri Community", comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58097 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.
- (4) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (3) of this clause shall consist of:

- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community;
 and
- (b) One person elected from time to time as a member of the Waikato District Council, representing the ward including the area of the community, and appointed by the Waikato District Council to the community board.
- (5) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning officer for the Waikato County.
- (6) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

64 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the Waikato District shall be the capital value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Waikato District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Waikato District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.
- (3) Subject to section 103 of the Rating Powers Act 1988, until the 30th day of June 1993, the system of rating within the former Huntly Borough, the former Ngaruawahia Borough and the former Raglan Community shall be the land value system.

65 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

- (1) The Waikato District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the Waikato District.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme of the Waikato District.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the Waikato District Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Waikato District Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.
- (4) Where before the coming into force of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:
- (a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the Waikato District Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or
- (b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the Waikato District Council; or
- (c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by that former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the Waikato District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

66 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the Waikato District until a new plan is approved for the Waikato District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.