consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Waikato District Council.

- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Waikato District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Waikato District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART V

Waipa District

77 CONSTITUTION OF WAIPA DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Waipa District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58024 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

78 WAIPA DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Waipa District Council", is hereby constituted for the Waipa District.

79 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Waipa County Council; and
- (b) The Waikato County Council; and
- (c) The Raglan County Council; and
- (d) The Matamata County Council; and
- (e) The Cambridge Borough Council; and
- (f) The Te Awamutu Borough Council; and
- (g) The Pirongia Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Rangioahia Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Rukuhia Central Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Te Miro Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Te Rahu Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (1) The Wharepapa Domain Board; and
- (m) The Mangahoe Drainage Board; and
- (n) The Upper Mangapiko Drainage Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

80 WARDS

- (1) The Waipa District is hereby divided into 3 wards.
- (2) Those 3 wards are:
- (a) The Pirongia Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58027 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Te Awamutu Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58026 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Cambridge Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58025 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

81 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Waipa District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 13 members.
- (2) The members of the Waipa District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Pirongia Ward; and

- (b) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Te Awamutu Ward; and
- (c) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Cambridge Ward.

82 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Waipa District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Waipa District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Te Awamutu Borough.
- (2) The first election of the Waipa District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

83 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Waipa District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

84 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Waipa District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 99 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Waipa District Council.

85 FUNCTIONS. DUTIES. AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Waipa District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Waipa District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Waipa District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of the Mangahoe Drainage Board and the Upper Mangapiko Drainage Board under the Land Drainage Act 1908; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

86 DRAINAGE AREAS

The areas of the former Mangahoe Drainage District and the former Upper Mangapiko Drainage District are hereby deemed to be drainage areas constituted under section 504 of the Local Government Act 1974.

87 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Waipa District Council shall be located in Te Awamutu.

88 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRE

The Waipa District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in Cambridge, in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

89 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Cambridge Ward, to be known as "The Cambridge Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Te Awamutu Ward, to be known as "The Te Awamutu Community".