(2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:

(a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and

(b) Not more than 4 persons elected from time to time as members of the Waipa District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Waipa District Council to the community board.

(3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning officer for the Te Awamutu Borough.

(4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

### 90 RATING

(1) The system of rating in the Waipa District shall be the capital value system.

(2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Waipa District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Waipa District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.

### 91 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

(1) The Waipa District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the Waipa District.

(2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme, of the Waipa District.

(3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or of any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the Waipa District Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Waipa District Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.

(4) Where before the coming into force of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:

(a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the Waipa District Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or

(b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the Waipa District Council; or

(c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by that former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the Waipa District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

#### **92 CIVIL DEFENCE**

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the Waipa District until a new plan is approved for the Waipa District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

## 93 VESTING OF PROPERTY

(1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Waipa District is

hereby vested in the corporation of the Waipa District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

(2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than those former authorities listed in paragraphs (b) to (d) of clause 79 of this order, and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the Waipa District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

## **94 TITLE TO PROPERTY**

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Waipa District Council by clause 93 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Waipa District Council".

#### **95 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE**

(1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Waipa District.

(2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:

- (a) The Waipa County Council; and
- (b) The Waikato County Council; and
- (c) The Raglan County Council; and
- (d) The Matamata County Council; and
- (e) The Cambridge Borough Council; and
- (f) The Te Awamutu Borough Council.

# 96 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The transitional committee for the Waipa District shall consist of:

(a) Two members appointed by the Te Awamutu Borough Council; and

(b) Two members appointed by the Cambridge Borough Council; and

(c) Two members appointed by the Waipa County Council; and

(d) One member appointed by the Raglan County Council; and

(e) One member appointed by the Waikato County Council; and

(f) One member appointed by the Matamata County Council; and

(g) One officer appointed by each local authority named in clause 95(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(h) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 99 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(i) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 95(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

(2) Each member appointed by the Te Awamutu Borough Council, the Cambridge Borough Council and the Waipa County Council shall have 2 votes.

## 97 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Waipa District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

#### 98 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Waipa District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any