# **173 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY**

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Papakura District shall be the Papakura City Council.

## **174 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE**

The costs of the transitional committee for the Papakura District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 168(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—  $\!\!\!\!$ 

- The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:
- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Papakura District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities included in the Papakura District by this Part of this order.

# 175 CONSULTATION WITH KIRK'S BUSH SCENIC RESERVE BOARD

(1) The transitional committee for the Papakura District shall consult with the Kirk's Bush Scenic Reserve Board for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for the Kirk's Bush Scenic Reserve.

(2) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Papakura District considers it desirable that a committee of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Papakura District Council that it establish such a committee of management.

## PART IX

#### Franklin District

## **176 CONSTITUTION OF FRANKLIN DISTRICT**

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Franklin District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63493 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

## **177 FRANKLIN DISTRICT COUNCIL**

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Franklin District Council", is hereby constituted for the Franklin District.

#### **178 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Franklin County Council; and
- (b) The Pukekohe Borough Council; and
- (c) The Waiuku Borough Council; and
- (d) The Tuakau Borough Council; and
- (e) The Raglan County Council; and
- (f) The Mercer Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Onewhero Recreation Reserve Board; and

(h) Subject to Part X of this order, the Auckland Harbour Board,

and any reference to "former authority" is hereby a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

### 179 WARDS

(1) The Franklin District is hereby divided into 6 wards.

- (2) Those 6 wards are:
  - (a) The Awhitu Ward, comprising the area delineated on

S.O. Plan No. 63536 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(b) The Waiuku Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63539 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(c) The Patumahoe Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63537 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(d) The Pukekohe Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63535 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(e) The Hunua Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63534 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(f) The Onewhero Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63538 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

### **180 MEMBERSHIP**

(1) The Franklin District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 14 members.

(2) The members of the Franklin District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Awhitu Ward; and

(b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Waiuku Ward; and

(c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Patumahoe Ward; and

(d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Pukekohe Ward; and

(e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Hunua Ward; and

(f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Onewhero Ward.

### **181 FIRST ELECTION**

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Franklin District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Franklin District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Franklin County.

(2) The first election of the Franklin District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

### **182 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Franklin District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

#### **183 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

(1) The Chief Executive of the Franklin District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 197 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Franklin District Council.

## **184 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS**

The functions, duties, and powers of the Franklin District Council shall be:

(a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—

- (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Franklin District Council or any of the former authorities; and