(1) The former Otorohanga District Council shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Otorohanga District Council.

(2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.

(3) Where, following that consultation, the former Otorohanga District Council considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the former Otorohanga District Council shall recommend to the Otorohanga District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART VII

Waitomo District

120 CONSTITUTION OF WAITOMO DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Waitomo District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58028 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

121 WAITOMO DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Waitomo District Council", is hereby constituted for the Waitomo District.

122 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means—
 - (a) The former Waitomo District Council; and
 - (b) The Clifton County Council; and
 - (c) The Taumarunui County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Waitomo District" means the Waitomo District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Waitomo District Council" means the Waitomo District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Waitomo District" means the Waitomo District constituted by this order:
- "Waitomo District Council" means the Waitomo District Council constituted by this order.

123 WARDS

(1) The Waitomo District is hereby divided into 7 wards.

(2) Those 7 wards are:

(a) The Te Kuiti Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58022 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(b) The Aria Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58032 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(c) The Mangaokewa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58029 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(d) The Paemako Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58031 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(e) The Tainui Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58034 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(f) The Te Anga Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58033 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(g) The Waitomo Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58030 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

124 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Waitomo District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 10 members.

(2) The members of the Waitomo District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Te Kuiti Ward; and

(b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Aria Ward; and

(c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Mangaokewa Ward; and

(d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Paemako Ward; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Tainui Ward; and

(f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Te Anga Ward; and

(g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waitomo Ward.

125 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Waitomo District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Waitomo District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Waitomo District.

(2) The first election of the Waitomo District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

126 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Waitomo District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

127 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Waitomo District Council shall be the person holding the position of Chief Executive Officer of the former Waitomo District Council immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Waitomo District Council.

128 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Waitomo District Council shall be:

(a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—

(i) The Local Government Act 1974; and

- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Waitomo District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (iii) Any local Act relating to the Waitomo District Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.