- (a) The Coromandel-Colville Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57968 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Whitianga Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57970 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Mercury Bay Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57969 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Whenuakite Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57971 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (e) The Tairua Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57973 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (f) The Whangamata Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57976 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (g) The Hastings Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57972 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (h) The Thames Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57974 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (i) The Puriri Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 57975 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

## 140 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Thames-Coromandel District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 13 members.
- (2) The members of the Thames-Coromandel District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Coromandel-Colville Ward; and
- (b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Whitianga Ward; and
- (c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Mercury Bay Ward; and
- . (d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Whenuakite Ward; and
- (e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Tairua Ward; and
- (f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Whangamata Ward; and
- (g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Hastings Ward; and
- (h) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Thames Ward; and  $\,$
- (i) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Puriri Ward.

# 141 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Thames—Coromandel District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Thames—Coromandel District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Thames-Coromandel District.
- (2) The first election of the Thames-Coromandel District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

## **142 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Thames-Coromandel District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## 143 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Thames-Coromandel District Council shall be the person holding the position of General Manager of the former Thames-Coromandel District immediately before the coming into force of this clause.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Thames-Coromandel District Council.

## 144 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Thames-Coromandel District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Thames— Coromandel District Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Thames-Coromandel District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

#### 145 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Thames-Coromandel District Council shall be located in Thames.

#### 146 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Coromandel-Colville Ward, to be known as "The Coromandel-Colville Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Tairua Ward, to be known as "The Tairua-Pauanui Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Whangamata Ward, to be known as "The Whangamata Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Thames-Coromandel District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Thames-Coromandel District Council to the community board.
- (3) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
  - (a) The area of—
  - (i) The Whitianga Ward; and
  - (ii) The Mercury Bay Ward; and
  - (iii) The Whenuakite Ward,
- to be known as "The Whitianga Community"; and
  - (b) The area of-
  - (i) The Thames Ward; and
  - (ii) The Hastings Ward; and
  - (iii) The Puriri Ward,
- to be known as "The Thames Community".
- (4) The community board for the Whitianga Community shall consist of:
- (a) Three members elected by the electors of the Whitianga Ward; and
- (b) One member elected by the electors of the Mercury Bay Ward; and