- (a) The Piako County Council; and
- (b) The Matamata County Council; and
- (c) The Morrinsville Borough Council; and
- (d) The Matamata Borough Council; and
- (e) The Te Aroha Borough Council; and
- (f) The Ohinemuri County Council; and
- (g) The Waikato County Council; and
- (h) The Mangateparu Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Ngarua Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (j) The Tahuna Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Waharoa Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (I) In respect of the Walton War Memorial Recreation Reserve, the Walton War Memorial Recreation Reserve Board, and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### **181 WARDS**

- (1) The Matamata-Piako District is hereby divided into 3 wards.
- (2) Those 3 wards are:
- (a) The Morrinsville Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58043 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Te Aroha Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58042 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Matamata Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58041 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

### **182 MEMBERSHIP**

- (1) The Matamata-Piako District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.
- (2) The members of the Matamata-Piako District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Morrinsville Ward; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Te Aroha Ward; and
- (c) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Matamata Ward.

#### **183 FIRST ELECTION**

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Matamata—Piako District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Matamata-Piako District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Matamata Borough.
- (2) The first election of the Matamata-Piako District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

# **184 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Matamata-Piako District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council: and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## **185 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Matamata-Piako District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 199 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Matamata-Piako District Council.

# 186 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Matamata-Piako District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Matamata—Piako District Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Matamata-Piako District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

#### 187 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

Until the Matamata-Piako District Council otherwise resolves, the administration headquarters of that Council shall be located in Te Aroha.

### **188 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES**

The Matamata-Piako District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in Matamata and in Morrinsville, in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

#### 189 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Morrinsville Ward, to be known as "The Morrinsville Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Te Aroha Ward, to be known as "The Te Aroha Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Matamata Ward, to be known as "The Matamata Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) Not more than 4 persons elected from time to time as members of the Matamata-Piako District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Matamata-Piako District Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning officer for the Matamata Borough.
- (4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

## 190 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the Matamata-Piako District shall be the capital value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Matamata-Piako District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Matamata—Piako District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.

# 191 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

- (1) The Matamata-Piako District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the Matamata-Piako District.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative