at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Matamata-Piako District.

202 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

(1) The transitional committee for the Matamata-Piako District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Matamata-Piako District Council.

(2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.

(3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Matamata-Piako District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Matamata-Piako District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART XI

South Waikato District

203 CONSTITUTION OF SOUTH WAIKATO DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The South Waikato District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58035 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

204 SOUTH WAIKATO DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The South Waikato District Council", is hereby constituted for the South Waikato District.

205 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Matamata County Council; and
- (b) The Putaruru Borough Council; and
- (c) The Tokoroa Borough Council; and
- (d) The Rotorua District Council; and
- (e) The Waipa County Council; and
- (f) The Lichfield Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Tirau Recreation Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

206 WARDS

The South Waikato District is hereby divided into 4 wards.
Those 4 wards are:

(a) The Tirau Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58036 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(b) The Putaruru Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58037 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(c) The Tokoroa West Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58038 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(d) The Tokoroa East Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58039 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

207 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The South Waikato District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 14 members.

(2) The members of the South Waikato District Council to be

elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Tirau Ward; and

(b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Putaruru Ward; and

(c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Tokoroa West Ward; and

(d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Tokoroa East Ward.

208 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the South Waikato District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the South Waikato District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Tokoroa Borough.

(2) The first election of the South Waikato District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

209 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the South Waikato District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

210 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the South Waikato District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 224 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the South Waikato District Council.

211 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the South Waikato District Council shall be:

(a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—

(i) The Local Government Act 1974; and

 (ii) Any other public Act relating to the South Waikato District Council or any of the former authorities; and

(iii) Any local Act relating to the South Waikato District Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

212 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the South Waikato District Council shall be located in Tokoroa.

213 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The South Waikato District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in Tirau and in Putaruru, in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

214 COMMUNITIES

 $\left(1\right)$ There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:

(a) The area of the Tirau Ward, to be known as "The Tirau Community"; and

(b) The area of the Putaruru Ward, to be known as "The Putaruru Community".

(2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of: