- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) \left(1\right$
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the South Waikato District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the South Waikato District Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning officer for the Tokoroa Borough.
- (4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

215 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the South Waikato District shall be the capital value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the South Waikato District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the South Waikato District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.
- (3) Subject to section 103 of the Rating Powers Act 1988, until the 30th day of June 1994, the system of rating in the former Tirau Community shall be the land value system.

216 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

- (1) The South Waikato District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the South Waikato District.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme, of the South Waikato District.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or of any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the South Waikato District Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the South Waikato District Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.
- (4) Where before the coming into force of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:
- (a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the South Waikato District Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or
- (b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the South Waikato District Council; or
- (c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by that former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the South Waikato District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

217 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the South Waikato District until a new plan is approved for the South Waikato District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

218 VESTING OF PROPERTY

(1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation

- of any former authority and situated in the South Waikato District is hereby vested in the corporation of the South Waikato District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than the Rotorua District Council and the Waipa County Council, and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the South Waikato District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

219 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the South Waikato District Council by clause 218 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The South Waikato District Council".

220 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the South Waikato District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Matamata County Council; and
 - (b) The Putaruru Borough Council; and
 - (c) The Tokoroa Borough Council.

221 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the South Waikato District shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Matamata County Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Putaruru Borough Council; and
- (c) Four members appointed by the Tokoroa Borough Council; and
- (d) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 220(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (e) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 224 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 220(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

222 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the South Waikato District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

223 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the South Waikato District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

224 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the South Waikato District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the South Waikato District Council.

225 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the South Waikato District shall be the Tokoroa Borough Council