#### 226 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the South Waikato District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 220(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—
  - The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:
  - (i) The district of that local authority; or
  - (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the South Waikato District,
  - as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the South Waikato District.

# 227 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the South Waikato District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the South Waikato District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the South Waikato District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the South Waikato District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

#### **PART XII**

#### Taupo District

## 228 CONSTITUTION OF TAUPO DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Taupo District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58049 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

#### 229 TAUPO DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Taupo District Council", is hereby constituted for the Taupo District.

#### 230 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means-
  - (a) The former Taupo District Council; and
  - (b) The Rotorua District Council; and
  - (c) The Taumarunui County Council; and
  - (d) The Matamata County Council; and
  - (e) The Whakatane District Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Taupo District" means the Taupo District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Taupo District Council" means the Taupo District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

- "Taupo District" means the Taupo District constituted by this order:
- "Taupo District Council" means the Taupo District Council constituted by this order.

#### **231 WARDS**

- (1) The Taupo District is hereby divided into 6 wards.
- (2) Those 6 wards are:
- (a) The Mangakino Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58023 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Pouakani Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58050 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Taupo Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58051 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Kaingaroa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58052 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (e) The Tongariro Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58053 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (f) The Turangi Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58112 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

#### 232 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Taupo District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.
- (2) Subject to the provisions of the Local Elections and Polls Act 1976, and the Local Government Act 1974, the Mayor and those members of the Taupo District Council who were first elected on the 19th day of November 1988 to represent:

The Mangakino Ward; and

The Pouakani Ward; and

The Taupo Ward; and

The Kaingaroa Ward; and

The Tongariro Ward,

shall continue in office until the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be conducted in October 1992.

(3) Two members of the Taupo District Council shall be elected to represent the Turangi Ward at the elections held pursuant to clause 2 of this order on the 14th day of October 1989.

### 233 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of members to represent the Turangi Ward, and members of the Turangi and Mangakino Community Boards, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Taupo District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Taupo District.
- (2) The first election of members to represent the Turangi Ward and members of the Turangi and Mangakino Community Boards shall be conducted by postal vote.

#### 234 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Taupo District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

#### 235 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Taupo District Council shall be the person holding the position of General Manager of the former Taupo District Council immediately before the coming into force of this clause.