166 Town and country planning

167 Civil defence

168 Vesting of property

169 Title to property

PART X

South Wairarapa District

170 Constitution of South Wairarapa District

171 South Wairarapa District Council

172 Interpretation

173 Wards

174 Membership

175 First election

176 First meeting

177 Chief executive

178 Functions, duties, and powers

179 Administration headquarters

180 Service delivery centres

181 Communities

182 Rating

183 Town and country planning

184 Civil defence

185 Vesting of property

186 Title to property

187 Transitional committee

188 Membership of transitional committee

189 No casting vote

190 Exclusion of non-voting members

191 Obligation of transitional committee to appoint chief

executive

192 Principal local authority

193 Costs of transitional committee

#### PART XI

Wellington Harbour Board

194 Vesting of property

195 Wellington Harbour Board and Wellington City Council

Vesting and Empowering Act 1987

196 Title to property

197 Port of Wellington Limited

198 Liabilities in respect of port related commercial

undertakings

199 Residual assets and liabilities

PART XII

Hutt Valley Drainage Board

200 Transfer of functions

201 Hutt Valley services committee

202 Hutt Valley drainage fund

203 Vesting of property

204 Title to property

**PART XIII** 

Wellington Waste Disposal Committee

205 Functions

206 Membership

PART XIV

General

207 Transfer of responsibilities

208 Creditors

209 Local authorities petroleum tax

210 Special funds

211 Loans

212 Assets and liabilities

213 Loan liabilities

214 Residual authorities

215 Conduct of affairs

Schedules

## Order

### 1 TITLE AND COMMENCEMENT

(1) This order may be cited as the Local Government (Wellington Region) Reorganisation Order 1989.

(2) Subject to subclause (3) of this clause, this order shall come into force on the 1st day of November 1989.

(3) Those provisions of this order necessary:

(a) To provide for the first election of the members of the local authorities, and the members of community boards for the communities, constituted by this order; and

(b) For the purposes of clauses 29 to 36, 54 to 59, 92 to 98, 116 to 122, 154, 187 to 193, and 212 of this order; and

(c) For the appointment of the principal administrative officers of the local authorities constituted by this order,

shall come into force on the making of this order.

### 2 ELECTIONS

The first elections of the local authorities, and the community boards for the communities, constituted by this order shall be held on the 14th day of October 1989.

### **3 COMMUNITIES**

Each community constituted by this order shall come into existence on the day after the date on which the Returning Officer declares the result of the first election of members of

the community board for that community, provided that no such community shall come into existence prior to the 1st day of November 1989.

#### PART I

### Wellington Region

# **4 CONSTITUTION OF WELLINGTON REGION**

There is hereby constituted a region, to be known as "The Wellington Region", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35951 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

#### **5 CONSTITUENT AUTHORITIES**

The constituent authorities of the Wellington Region shall comprise:

- (a) The territorial authorities constituted by Parts III to  $\boldsymbol{X}$  of this order; and
- (b) In relation to any part of the Tararua District constituted by the Local Government (Manawatu-Wanganui Region) Reorganisation Order 1989 that is within the Wellington Region, the Tararua District Council.

#### 6 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING DISTRICTS