- (1) Every local authority named in Part I or Part II of the First Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

7 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

- (1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.
- (2) Any reference in Part XIV of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to the former authorities defined in Parts II to X of this order.

8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING DISTRICT COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITIES

- (1) Every district community council and community council named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

PART II

Wellington Regional Council

9 WELLINGTON REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Wellington Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Wellington Region.

10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means-

- (a) The former Wellington Regional Council; and
- (b) The Horowhenua United Council; and
- (c) The Wairarapa United Council; and
- (d) The Wairarapa Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (e) The Manawatu Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (f) Subject to Part XI of this order, the Wellington Harbour Board; and
 - (g) The Wellington Maritime Planning Authority; and
 - (h) The Wellington District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (i) The Horowhenua District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Featherston District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (k) The Masterton District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (I) The Eketahuna District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (m) The Wairarapa South-Carterton District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (n) The Wainuiomata District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (o) The South-west North Island Pest Destruction Board;
- (p) The South-east Coast North Island Pest Destruction Board, and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:
- "Former Wellington Region" means the Wellington Region in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Wellington Regional Council" means the Wellington Regional Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

- "Wellington Region" means the Wellington Region constituted by this order:
- "Wellington Regional Council" means the Wellington Regional Council constituted by this order.

11 CONSTITUENCIES

- (1) The Wellington Region shall be divided into 7 constituencies.
- (2) Those 7 constituencies are:
- (a) The Kapiti Coast Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35952 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Porirua Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35953 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Wellington North Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35954 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Wellington South Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35955 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (e) The Lower Hutt Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35956 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (f) The Upper Hutt Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35957 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (g) The Wairarapa Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35958 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

12 MEMBERSHIP

The Wellington Regional Council shall consist of 19 members, of whom:

- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Kapiti Coast Constituency; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Porirua Constituency; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Wellington North Constituency; and
- (d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Wellington South Constituency; and
- (e) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Lower Hutt Constituency; and
- (f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Upper Hutt Constituency; and
- (g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Wairarapa Constituency.

13 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Wellington Regional Council:
- (a) The Returning Officer for the Kapiti Coast Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Kapiti Borough; and
- (b) The Returning Officer for the Porirua Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Porirua City; and
- (c) The Returning Officer for the Wellington North Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Wellington City; and
- (d) The Returning Officer for the Wellington South Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Wellington City; and
- (e) The Returning Officer for the Lower Hutt Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Lower Hutt City; and
- (f) The Returning Officer for the Upper Hutt Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Upper Hutt City; and