- (d) The Lower Hutt City Council; and
- (e) Subject to Part XI of this order, the Wellington Harbour

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Wellington City" means the Wellington City in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Wellington City Council" means the Wellington City Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Wellington City" means the Wellington City constituted by this order:
- "Wellington City Council" means the Wellington City Council constituted by this order.

40 WARDS

- (1) The Wellington City is hereby divided into 7 wards.
- (2) Those 7 wards are:
- (a) The Tawa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35960 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Northern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35961 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Western Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35962 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Onslow Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35963 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (e) The Lambton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35964 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (f) The Southern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35965 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (g) The Eastern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35966 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

41 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Wellington City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 21 members.
- (2) The members of the Wellington City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Tawa Ward; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Northern Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Western Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Onslow Ward; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Lambton Ward; and
- (f) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Southern Ward; and
- (g) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Eastern Ward.

42 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Wellington City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Wellington City shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Wellington City.

(2) The first election of the Wellington City Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

43 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Wellington City Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989

44 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Wellington City Council shall be the person holding the position of Chief Executive of the former Wellington City Council immediately before the coming into force of this clause.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Wellington City Council.

45 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Wellington City Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Wellington City Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Wellington City Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps, and other harbour facilities, formerly the responsibility of the Wellington Harbour Board, and transferred to the Wellington City Council by Part XI of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

46 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Wellington City Council shall be located in Wellington.

47 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Wellington City Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Tawa; and
- (b) not less than two other localities within Wellington City, in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

48 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for the area of the Tawa Ward, to be known as "The Tawa Community".
- (2) The community board for the Tawa Community shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of that community;
- (b) The persons elected, from time to time as members of the Wellington City Council representing the ward comprising the area of that community, and appointed by the Wellington City Council to the community board.
- (3) There is hereby constituted a community to be known as
 - "The Makara-Ohariu Community", comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36004 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.
- (4) The community board for the Makara-Ohariu Community