Council, and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Kapiti Coast District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

91 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Kapiti Coast District Council by clause 90 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Kapiti Coast District Council".

92 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Kapiti Coast District
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Kapiti Borough Council; and
 - (b) The Otaki Borough Council; and
 - (c) The Horowhenua County Council.

93 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Kapiti Coast District shall consist of:

- (a) Four members appointed by the Kapiti Borough Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Otaki Borough Council;
- (c) Two members appointed by the Horowhenua County Council; and
- (d) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 92(2) of this order, each of whom shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (e) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 96 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 92(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

94 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Kapiti Coast District or other person presiding at any meeting of that Committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

95 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Kapiti Coast District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that Committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter the affects that member personally.

96 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Kapiti Coast District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Kapiti Coast District Council.

97 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Kapiti Coast District shall be the Kapiti Borough Council.

98 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Kapiti Coast District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 92(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee: or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in Kapiti Coast District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Kapiti Coast District.

PART VI

Lower Hutt City

99 CONSTITUTION OF LOWER HUTT CITY

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Lower Hutt City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35979 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

100 LOWER HUTT CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Lower Hutt City Council", is hereby constituted for the Lower Hutt City.

101 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means—

- (a) The former Lower Hutt City Council; and
- (b) The Petone Borough Council; and
- (c) The Eastbourne Borough Council; and
- (d) The Wainuiomata District Council; and
- (e) Subject to Part XII of this order, the Hutt Valley Drainage Board; and
 - (f) The Wellington City Council; and
 - (g) The Upper Hutt City Council; and
- (h) Subject to Part XI of this order, the Wellington Harbour $\operatorname{\mathsf{Board}}$

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

"Former Lower Hutt City" means the Lower Hutt City in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Former Lower Hutt City Council" means the Lower Hutt City Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Lower Hutt City" means the Lower Hutt City constituted by this order:

"Lower Hutt City Council" means the Lower Hutt City Council constituted by this order.

102 WARDS

- (1) The Lower Hutt City is hereby divided into 5 wards.
- (2) Those 5 wards are:
- (a) The Northern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35980 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Western Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35981 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
 - (c) The Eastern Ward, comprising the area delineated on