- S.O. Plan No. 35982 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Harbour Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35983 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (e) The Wainuiomata Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35984 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

103 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Lower Hutt City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.
- (2) The members of the Lower Hutt City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Northern Ward; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Western Ward; and $\ensuremath{\mathsf{W}}$
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Eastern Ward; and
- (d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Harbour Ward; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Wainuiomata Ward.

104 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Lower Hutt City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Lower Hutt City shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Lower Hutt City.
- (2) The first election of the Lower Hutt City Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

105 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Lower Hutt City Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

106 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Lower Hutt City Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 120 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Lower Hutt City Council.

107 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Lower Hutt City Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under— $\,$
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Lower Hutt City Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Lower Hutt City Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps, and other harbour facilities, formerly the responsibility of the Wellington Harbour Board and transferred to it by Part XI of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

108 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Lower Hutt City Council shall be located in Lower Hutt.

109 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Lower Hutt City Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Eastbourne; and
- (b) Wainuiomata; and
- (c) Petone.

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

110 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) A community to be known as "The Eastbourne Community", comprising that area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36005 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District; and
- (b) A community to be known as the "The Petone Community", comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36006 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) One person elected, from time to time, as a member of the Lower Hutt City Council, representing the ward including the area of the community, and appointed by the Lower Hutt City Council to the community board.
- (3) There is hereby constituted a community for the area of the Wainuiomata Ward, to be known as "The Wainuiomata Community".
- (4) The community board for the Wainuiomata Community shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) \left(1\right$
- (b) The persons elected, from time to time, as members of the Lower Hutt City Council, representing the Wainuiomata Ward and appointed by the Lower Hutt City Council to the community board.
- (5) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the former Lower Hutt City.
- (6) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

111 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the Lower Hutt City shall be the capital value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Lower Hutt City, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Lower Hutt City was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.
- (3) Subject to section 103 of the Rating Powers Act 1988, until the 30th day of June 1991 or until such time as the Lower Hutt City Council otherwise resolves and with the approval of the Local Government Commission pursuant to section 35(1)(k) of the Local Government Act 1974, the rating system for the area of the former Eastbourne Borough shall be the land value system.