Carterton District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

168 VESTING OF PROPERTY

All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of the former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the Carterton District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances

169 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to the former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Carterton District Council by clause 168 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Carterton District Council".

PART X

South Wairarapa District

170 CONSTITUTION OF SOUTH WAIRARAPA DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The South Wairarapa District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35998 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

171 SOUTH WAIRARAPA DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The South Wairarapa District Council", is hereby constituted for the South Wairarapa District.

172 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Featherston Borough Council; and
- (b) The Featherston County Council; and
- (c) The Martinborough Borough Council; and
- (d) The Greytown Borough Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be read as a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

173 WARDS

- (1) The South Wairarapa District is hereby divided into 3 wards.
- (2) Those 3 wards are:
- (a) The Martinborough Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 35999 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Featherston Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36000 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Greytown Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36001 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

174 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The South Wairarapa District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 10 members.
- (2) The members of the South Wairarapa District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Martinborough Ward; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Featherston Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Greytown Ward.

175 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the South

Wairarapa District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the South Wairarapa District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Featherston Borough.

(2) The first election of the South Wairarapa District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

176 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the South Wairarapa District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

177 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the South Wairarapa District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 191 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the South Wairarapa District Council.

178 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the South Wairarapa District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the South Wairarapa District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the South Wairarapa District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

179 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

Until the South Wairarapa District Council otherwise resolves, the administration headquarters of the South Wairarapa District Council shall be located in Martinborough.

180 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The South Wairarapa District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre, in:

- (a) Featherston; and
- (b) Greutown.

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

181 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Martinborough Ward, to be known as "The Martinborough Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Featherston Ward, to be known as "The Featherston Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Greytown Ward, to be known as "The Greytown Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) The persons elected from time to time, as members of the South Wairarapa District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of that community, and appointed by the South Wairarapa District Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the