community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Featherston Borough.

(4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

182 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the South Wairarapa District shall be the land value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the South Wairarapa District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the South Wairarapa District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.

183 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

- (1) The South Wairarapa District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the South Wairarapa District.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme of the South Wairarapa District.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the South Wairarapa District Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the South Wairarapa District Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.
- (4) Where before the coming into force of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:
- (a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the South Wairarapa District Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or
- (b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the South Wairarapa District Council; or
- (c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by the former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the South Wairarapa District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

184 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the South Wairarapa District until a new plan is approved for the South Wairarapa District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

185 VESTING OF PROPERTY

All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the South Wairarapa District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

186 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the South Wairarapa District Council by clause 185 of this order

shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The South Wairarapa District Council".

187 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the South Wairarapa District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Featherston Borough Council; and
 - (b) The Featherston County Council; and
 - (c) The Martinborough Borough Council; and
 - (d) The Greytown Borough Council.

188 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The transitional committee for the South Wairarapa District shall consist of:
- (a) Two members appointed by the Featherston County Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Featherston Borough Council; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Greytown Borough Council: and
- (d) One member appointed by the Martinborough Borough Council; and
- (e) One officer to be appointed by each local authority, named in clause 187(2) of this order, each of whom shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (f) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 191 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (g) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 187(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.
- (2) Each member appointed by the Featherston County Council shall have 2 votes.

189 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the South Wairarapa District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

190 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the South Wairarapa District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

191 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the South Wairarapa District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the South Wairarapa District Council.

192 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the South Wairarapa District shall be the Featherston County Council.

193 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the South Wairarapa District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 187(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or