paragraphs (d) to (j) of clause 25(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

- (g) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 29 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (h) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 25(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

27 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the West Coast Region or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

28 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the West Coast Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

29 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the West Coast Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the West Coast Regional Council.

30 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the West Coast Region shall be the West Coast United Council.

31 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The costs of the transitional committee for the West Coast Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 25(2) of this order either:
- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee: or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula— $\,$

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988, bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.

(2) For the purpose of this clause, the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the West Coast Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the West Coast Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

32 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the West Coast Region shall meet with each of the other transitional committees specified in this order and the transitional committee for the Tasman District, for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the West Coast Regional Council by this order.

PART III

Buller District

33 CONSTITUTION OF BULLER DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Buller District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14451 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District.

34 BULLER DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Buller District Council", is hereby constituted for the Buller District.

35 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Buller County Council; and
- (b) The Westport Borough Council; and
- (c) The Inangahua County Council; and
- (d) The Grey County Council; and
- (e) The Brougham Street Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Carter Beach Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Karamea Memorial Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Mokihinui Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Little Wanganui Reserve Board; and
- (j) The Mawheraiti Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Ngakawau/Hector Reserve Board; and
- (1) The Omau Reserve Board; and
- (m) The Seddonville Soldiers Reserve Board; and
- (n) The Waimangaroa Reserve Board; and
- (o) The Reefton Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be read as a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

36 WARDS

- (1) The Buller District is hereby divided into 3 wards.
- (2) Those 3 wards are:
- (a) The Seddon Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14452 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District:
- (b) The Westport Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14453 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District:
- (c) The Inangahua Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14454 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District.

37 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Buller District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 11 members
- (2) The members of the Buller District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Seddon Ward; and
- (b) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Westport Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Inangahua Ward.

38 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Buller District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Buller District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Buller County.
- (2) The first election of the Buller District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

39 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Buller District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.