2523

(c) Two members appointed by the Inangahua County Council; and

(d) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in paragraphs (a) to (c) of clause 50(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the committee; and

(e) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 54 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 50(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

52 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Buller District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

53 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Buller District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

54 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Buller District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Buller District Council.

55 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Buller District shall be the Westport Borough Council.

56 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Buller District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 50(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

- The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:
- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Buller District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Buller District.

57 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

(1) The transitional committee for the Buller District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Buller District Council.

(2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.

(3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Buller District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Buller District

Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART IV

Grey District

58 CONSTITUTION OF GREY DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Grey District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11457 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District.

59 GREY DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Grey District Council", is hereby constituted for the Grey District.

60 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Grey County Council; and
- (b) The Greymouth Borough Council; and
- (c) The Runanga Borough Council; and

(d) Subject to Part VI of this order, the Greymouth Harbour Board; and

- (e) The Blackball Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Dobson Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Garth Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Ngahere Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Paroa Reserve Board; and
- (j) The Rapahoe Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Taylorville Reserve Board; and
- (1) The Ogilvie Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

61 WARDS

(1) The Grey District shall be divided into 5 wards.

(2) Those 5 wards are:

(a) The Ahaura Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11455 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District:

(b) The Moana Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11456 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District:

(c) The Cobden Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11453 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District:

(d) The Karoro Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11452 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District:

(e) The Runanga Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11454 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Westland Land District.

62 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Grey District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.

(2) The members of the Grey District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Ahaura Ward; and

(b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Moana Ward; and

(c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Cobden Ward; and

(d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Karoro Ward; and