(1) The Whakatane District Noxious Plants Authority; and

(m) The Opotiki District Noxious Plants Authority; and

(n) The Central North Island Pest Destruction Board; and

(o) The Tauranga County Pest Destruction Board; and

(p) The East Coast Pest Destruction Board; and

(q) The Hauraki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and

(r) The Thames Valley United Council; and

(s) The Ohinemuri District Noxious Plants Authority; and

(t) The Ohinemuri County Pest Destruction Board; and

(u) The Waikato United Council; and

(v) The Matamata District Noxious Plants Authority; and

(w) The Matamata County Pest Destruction Board; and

(x) The Tongariro United Council; and

(y) The Taupo District Noxious Plants Authority,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

"Former Bay of Plenty Region" means the Bay of Plenty Region in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Bay of Plenty Region" means the Bay of Plenty Region constituted by this order.

## **11 CONSTITUENCIES**

(1) The Bay of Plenty Region is hereby divided into 4 constituencies.

(2) Those 4 constituencies are:

(a) The Tauranga Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58082 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(b) The Western Bay of Plenty Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58081 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(c) The Rotorua Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58083 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(d) The Eastern Bay of Plenty Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58084 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

## **12 MEMBERSHIP**

The Bay of Plenty Regional Council shall consist of 12 members, of whom:

(a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Tauranga Constituency; and

(b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Western Bay of Plenty Constituency; and

(c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Rotorua Constituency; and

(d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Eastern Bay of Plenty Constituency.

# **13 FIRST ELECTION**

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council:

(a) The Returning Officer for the Tauranga Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Mount Maunganui Borough; and

(b) The Returning Officer for the Western Bay of Plenty Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Tauranga County; and

(c) The Returning Officer for the Rotorua Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Rotorua District; and

(d) The Returning Officer for the Eastern Bay of Plenty

Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Whakatane District.

(2) The first election of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

# **14 FIRST MEETING**

(1) The principal administrative officer of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council:

(a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and

(b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.

(2) The first meeting of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

#### **15 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

(1) The Chief Executive of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 32 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council.

## **16 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS**

(1) The functions, duties, and powers of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council shall be:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a regional council under—

(i) The Local Government Act 1974; and

- (ii) The Urban Transport Act 1980; and
- (iii) Any public Act relating to the Bay of Plenty Regional Council or any of the former authorities and not expressly referred to in this clause; and
- (iv) Any local Act relating to the Bay of Plenty Regional Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to regional planning of a regional council under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and

(c) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to maritime planning of a maritime planning authority under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and

(d) The functions, duties, and powers of a catchment board and a regional water board under the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941 and the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967 or any other Act; and

(e) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to civil defence of a regional council under the Civil Defence Act 1983 or any other Act; and

(f) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board under the Harbours Act 1950 and the Marine Pollution Act 1974 or any other Act in respect of the Tauranga Harbour; and

(g) The functions, duties, and powers of a pest destruction board under the Agricultural Pests Destruction Act 1967 or any other Act; and

(h) The functions, duties, and powers of a district noxious plants authority under the Noxious Plants Act 1978 or any other Act; and

(i) In respect of the area of the Rangitaiki Drainage District, the functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974 and the functions, duties, and powers of the Rangitaiki Drainage Board under the Rangitaiki Land Drainage Act 1956.

(2) For the purposes of subclause (1)(i) of this clause, any reference in Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974 to:

"Council" shall be deemed to include the Bay of Plenty Regional Council:

"District" shall be deemed to include the Bay of Plenty Region.