# **33 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY**

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Bay of Plenty Region shall be the Bay of Plenty Catchment Board and Regional Water Board.

### 34 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The costs of the transitional committee for the Bay of Plenty Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 28(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority, for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988, bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.

(2) For the purpose of this clause the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the Bay of Plenty Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

#### **35 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY**

The transitional committee for the Bay of Plenty Region shall meet with:

(a) Each of the other transitional committees specified in this order; and

(b) The following territorial authorities—

- (i) The Rotorua District Council; and
- (ii) The Kawerau District Council; and
- (iii) The Opotiki District Council; and
- (iv) The Taupo District Council; and
- (c) The Rangitaiki Drainage Board,

for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Bay of Plenty Regional Council by this order.

#### PART III

## Tauranga District

#### **36 CONSTITUTION OF TAURANGA DISTRICT**

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Tauranga District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58067 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

### **37 TAURANGA DISTRICT COUNCIL**

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Tauranga District Council", is hereby constituted for the Tauranga District.

#### **38 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Tauranga City Council; and
- (b) The Mount Maunganui Borough Council; and
- (c) The Tauranga County Council; and

(d) Subject to Part IX of this order, the Bay of Plenty Harbour Board; and

(e) The Tauranga Racecourse Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### **39 WARDS**

(1) The Tauranga District is hereby divided into 5 wards.

(2) Those 5 wards are:

(a) The Otumoetai-Bethlehem Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58068 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(b) The Mount Maunganui Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58072 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(c) The Te Papa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58069 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(d) The Welcome Bay-Pyes Pa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58070 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:

(e) The Papamoa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58071 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

### **40 MEMBERSHIP**

(1) The Tauranga District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 14 members.

(2) The members of the Tauranga District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Otumoetai-Bethlehem Ward; and

(b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Mount Maunganui Ward; and

(c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Te Papa Ward; and

(d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Welcome Bay-Pyes Pa Ward; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Papamoa Ward.

#### **41 FIRST ELECTION**

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Tauranga District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Tauranga District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Mount Maunganui Borough.

(2) The first election of the Tauranga District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

#### **42 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Tauranga District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that  $\ensuremath{\mathsf{Council}}\xspace$  ; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

# 43 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Tauranga District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 56 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Tauranga District Council.

# 44 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

(1) The functions, duties, and powers of the Tauranga District Council shall be:

(a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—

- (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Tauranga District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (iii) Any local Act relating to the Tauranga District Council or any of the former authorities; and