Tauranga District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

55 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Tauranga District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

56 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Tauranga District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Tauranga District Council.

57 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Tauranga District shall be the Tauranga City Council.

58 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Tauranga District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 52(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Tauranga District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Tauranga District.

59 CONSULTATION WITH TAURANGA RACECOURSE RESERVE BOARD

- (1) The transitional committee for the Tauranga District shall consult with the Tauranga Racecourse Reserve Board for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for the Tauranga Racecourse Reserve.
- (2) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Tauranga District considers it desirable that a committee of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Tauranga District Council that it establish such a committee of management.

PART IV

Western Bay of Plenty District

60 CONSTITUTION OF WESTERN BAY OF PLENTY DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Western Bay of Plenty District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58073 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

61 WESTERN BAY OF PLENTY DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Western Bay of Plenty District Council", is hereby constituted for the Western Bay of Plenty District.

62 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Tauranga County Council; and
- (b) The Ohinemuri County Council; and
- (c) The Te Puke Borough Council; and
- (d) The Matamata County Council; and
- (e) Subject to Part IX of this order, the Bay of Plenty Harbour Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

63 WARDS

- (1) The Western Bay of Plenty District is hereby divided into 5 wards
- (2) Those 5 wards are:
- (a) The Waihi Beach Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58078 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Katikati Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58074 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Kaimai Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58075 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Te Puke Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58076 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (e) The Maketu Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58077 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

64 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Western Bay of Plenty District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.
- (2) The members of the Western Bay of Plenty District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waihi Beach Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Katikati Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Kaimai Ward; and
- (d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Te Puke Ward; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Maketu Ward.

65 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Western Bay of Plenty District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Western Bay of Plenty District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Tauranga County.
- (2) The first election of the Western Bay of Plenty District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

66 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Western Bay of Plenty District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

67 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Western Bay of Plenty District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 81 of this order.