the Rotorua District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

97 VESTING OF PROPERTY

- (1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Rotorua District is hereby vested in the corporation of the Rotorua District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than those former authorities named in paragraphs (b) to (d) of clause 86 of this order, and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Rotorua District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

98 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Rotorua District Council by clause 97 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Rotorua District Council".

99 CONSULTATION WITH HORAHORA-NGAKURA RECREATION RESERVE BOARD

- (1) The former Rotorua District Council shall consult with the Horahora-Ngakura Recreation Reserve Board for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for the Horahora-Ngakura Recreation Reserve.
- (2) Where, following that consultation, the former Rotorua District Council considers it desirable that a committee of management be established, the former Rotorua District Council shall recommend to the Rotorua District Council that it establish such a committee of management.

PART VI

Whakatane District

100 CONSTITUTION OF WHAKATANE DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Whakatane District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58054 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

101 WHAKATANE DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Whakatane District Council", is hereby constituted for the Whakatane District.

102 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means-
 - (a) The former Whakatane District Council; and
 - (b) The Murupara Borough Council; and
 - (c) The Taupo District Council; and
 - (d) The Opotiki District Council; and
 - (e) The Galatea Domain Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Whakatane District" means the Whakatane District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Whakatane District Council" means the Whakatane District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Whakatane District" means the Whakatane District constituted by this order:
- "Whakatane District Council" means the Whakatane District Council constituted by this order.

103 WARDS

- (1) The Whakatane District is hereby divided into 10 wards.
- (2) Those 10 wards are:
- (a) The Whakatane West Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58058 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Whakatane East Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58059 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Matata Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58055 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Tarawera Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58060 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (e) The Edgecumbe Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58056 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (f) The Omataroa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58057 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (g) The Taneatua Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58061 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (h) The Waimana Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58063 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (i) The Galatea Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58062 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District:
- (j) The Murupara Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 58064 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the South Auckland Land District.

104 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Whakatane District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.
- (2) The members of the Whakatane District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Whakatane West Ward; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Whakatane East Ward; and
- (c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Matata Ward; and
- (d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Tarawera Ward; and
- (e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Edgecumbe Ward; and
- (f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Omataroa Ward; and
- (g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Taneatua Ward; and
- (h) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waimana Ward; and
- (i) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Galatea Ward; and
- (j) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Murupara Ward.

105 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Whakatane District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Whakatane District shall be,