262 Loan liaibilities 263 Residual authorities 264 Conduct of affairs Schedules

Order

1 TITLE AND COMMENCEMENT

- (1) This order may be cited as the Local Government (Canterbury Region) Reorganisation Order 1989.
- (2) Subject to subclause (3) of this clause, this order shall come into force on the 1st day of November 1989.
- (3) Those provisions of this order necessary:
- (a) To provide for the first election of the members of the local authorities, and the members of the community boards for the communities constituted by this order; and
- (b) For the purposes of clauses 29 to 36, 54 to 61, 79 to 85, 95, 103 to 110, 129 to 135, 153 to 160, 178 to 185, 203 to 210, 228, 245 and 261 of this order; and
- (c) For the appointment of the principal administrative officers of those local authorities constituted by this order, shall come into force on the making of this order.

2 ELECTIONS

Except as provided in Part XI of this order, the first elections of the local authorities, and the community boards for the communities, constituted by this order shall be held on the 14th day of October 1989.

3 COMMUNITIES

Each community constituted by this order shall come into existence on the day after the date on which the Returning Officer declares the result of the first election of members of the community board for that community, provided that no such community shall come into existence prior to the 1st day of November 1989.

PART I

Canterbury Region

4 CONSTITUTION OF CANTERBURY REGION

There is hereby constituted a region to be known as "The Canterbury Region", which shall comprise that area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18043 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

5 CONSTITUENT AUTHORITIES

The constituent authorities of the Canterbury Region shall comprise:

- (a) The territorial authorities constituted by Parts III to XI of this order; and
- (b) In relation to any part of the Waitaki District constituted by the Local Government (Otago Region) Reorganisation Order 1989 that is within the Canterbury Region, the Waitaki District Council.

6 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING DISTRICTS

- (1) Every local authority named in Part I or Part II of the First Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

7 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

(1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.

(2) Any reference in Part XIII of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to XI of this order.

8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING DISTRICT COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITIES

- (1) Every district community council and every community council named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

PART II

Canterbury Regional Council

9 CANTERBURY REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Canterbury Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Canterbury Region.

10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means—

- (a) The Canterbury United Council; and
- (b) The Aorangi United Council; and
- (c) The North Canterbury Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (d) The South Canterbury Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (e) The Waitaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (f) The Amuri District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (g) The Malvern District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (h) The Ellesmere District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (i) The Banks Peninsula District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Cheviot District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (k) The Christchurch City District Noxious Plants Authority; and $% \left\{ 1,2,\ldots ,n\right\}$
 - (1) The Hurunui District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (m) The Paparua District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (n) The Rangiora District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (o) The Ashburton District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (p) The Strathallan District Noxious Plants Authority; and(q) The Mackenzie District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (r) The Waimate District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (s) The North Canterbury Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (t) The Central Canterbury Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (u) The South Canterbury Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (v) The Ashburton Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (w) The South Canterbury Wallaby Board; and
 - (x) The North Canterbury Nassella Tussock Board; and
- (y) Subject to Part XII of this order, the Lyttelton Harbour Board and the Timaru Harbour Board; and
 - (z) The Waitaki Valley Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (aa) The Waitaki District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (ab) The Coastal-North Otago United Council; and
 - (ac) The Marlborough United Council; and