(ad) The Kaikoura District Noxious Plants Authority; and

(ae) The Kaikoura Pest Destruction Board; and

(af) The Marlborough Nassella Tussock Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

"Former Canterbury Region" means the Canterbury Region in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Canterbury Region" means the Canterbury Region constituted by this order.

## **11 CONSTITUENCIES**

(1) The Canterbury Regional Council is hereby divided into 7 constituencies.

(2) Those 7 constituencies are:

(a) The North Canterbury Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18044 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(b) The Selwyn Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18045 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(c) The Fitzgerald Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18046 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(d) The Godley Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18047 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(e) The Ashburton Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18048 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(f) The South Canterbury Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18049 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(g) The Waitaki Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18050 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

## **12 MEMBERSHIP**

The Canterbury Regional Council shall consist of 17 members, of whom:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the North Canterbury Constituency; and

(b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Selwyn Constituency; and

(c) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Fitzgerald Constituency; and

(d) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Godley Constituency; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Ashburton Constituency; and

(f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the South Canterbury Constituency; and

(g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waitaki Constituency.

## **13 FIRST ELECTION**

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Canterbury Regional Council:

(a) The Returning Officer for the North Canterbury Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Rangiora District; and

(c) The Returning Officer for the Selwyn Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Ellesmere County; and

(d) The Returning Officer for the Fitzgerald Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Christchurch City; and

(e) The Returning Officer for the Godley Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Christchurch City; and

(f) The Returning Officer for the Ashburton Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Ashburton County; and

(g) The Returning Officer for the South Canterbury Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Timaru City; and

(h) The Returning Officer for the Waitaki Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Waimate District.

(2) The first election of the Canterbury Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

#### **14 FIRST MEETING**

(1) The principal administrative officer of the Canterbury Regional Council:

(a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and

(b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.

(2) The first meeting of the Canterbury Regional Council shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## **15 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

(1) The Chief Executive of the Canterbury Regional Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 33 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer for the Canterbury Regional Council.

# 16 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Canterbury Regional Council shall be:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a regional council under---

(i) The Local Government Act 1974; and

(ii) The Urban Transport Act 1980; and

- (iii) Any public Act relating to the Canterbury Regional Council or any of the former authorities and not expressly referred to in this clause; and
- (iv) Any local Act relating to the Canterbury Regional Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to regional planning of a regional council under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and

(c) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to maritime planning of a maritime planning authority under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and

(d) The functions, duties, and powers of a catchment board and a regional water board under the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941 and the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967 or any other Act; and

(e) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to civil defence of a regional council under the Civil Defence Act 1983 or any other Act; and

(f) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board under the Harbours Act 1950 and the Marine Pollution Act 1974 or any other Act; and

(g) The functions, duties, and powers of a pest destruction board under the Agricultural Pests Destruction Act 1967 or any other Act; and

(h) The functions, duties, and powers of a district noxious plants authority under the Noxious Plants Act 1978 or any other Act.

## **17 SOUTH CANTERBURY COMMITTEE**

(1) The Canterbury Regional Council shall at least until the 1st day of November 1992, establish and maintain, a committee to be known as "The South Canterbury Committee" comprising: