- (a) Those members of the Canterbury Regional Council elected from the Waitaki and South Canterbury Constituencies; and
- (b) Three other persons appointed by the Canterbury Regional Council, after consultation with the district councils in the Waitaki and South Canterbury Constituencies, who are themselves resident in those constituencies; and
  - (c) The Chairperson of the Canterbury Regional Council.
- (2) The Chairperson of the South Canterbury Committee shall be appointed by the Canterbury Regional Council from the members elected to the Canterbury Regional Council from the Waitaki and South Canterbury Constituencies.
- (3) The South Canterbury Committee may request the Canterbury Regional Council to appoint other persons from the Waitaki or South Canterbury Constituencies, with special knowledge of the Waitaki or South Canterbury Constituencies, to the South Canterbury Committee.
- (4) The function of the South Canterbury Committee shall be to consider and make recommendations on all matters affecting the Waitaki and South Canterbury Constituencies which the Canterbury Regional Council refers to it.
- (5) Subject to section 114Q of the Local Government Act 1974, the Canterbury Regional Council may delegate any matter to the South Canterbury Committee with power to act.
- (6) The South Canterbury Committee may, of its own motion, consider any matter of concern to the Waitaki and South Canterbury Constituencies and refer it with a recommendation to the Canterbury Regional Council.

### 18 RURAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

- (1) The Canterbury Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a Rural Services Committee.
- (2) The Rural Services Committee shall be responsible for:
  - (a) Agricultural pests destruction; and
  - (b) Noxious plants including Nassella Tussock control; and
- (c) Any other functions considered by the Canterbury Regional Council to be of particular concern to the rural community.
- (3) The persons appointed by the Canterbury Regional Council to the Rural Services Committee established under this clause shall include not less than 2 persons:
  - (a) Who are not members of that Council; but
- (b) Who, in the opinion of the Council, have knowledge that will assist the work of the Committee.

### 19 JOINT COMMITTEES

(1) The Canterbury Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, unite with:

First, the Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council; and Secondly, the Otago Regional Council,

in appointing joint committees.

- (2) Each joint committee shall comprise an equal number of representatives from the Councils comprising the respective joint committees and appointed by the appropriate Councils named in subclause (1) of this clause.
- (3) The functions of these joint committees shall be:
- (a) Co-ordinating planning for the control of those agricultural pests and noxious plants, including nassella tussock of particular concern in relation to their regions; and
- (b) Co-ordinating action on such other matters as those councils are jointly interested in.

# 20 REGIONAL LAND TRANSPORT COMMITTEE

(1) The Canterbury Regional Council shall establish and maintain a Regional Land Transport Committee.

- (2) The Regional Land Transport Committee shall be responsible for;
- (a) Regional roading, under Part XXII of the Local Government Act 1974; and
- (b) Such transport or other roading responsibilities as may from time to time, pursuant to any Act, become a function of a regional council; and
- (c) Such other functions as the Canterbury Regional Council considers appropriate.

#### 21 HARBOUR COMMITTEE

- (1) The Canterbury Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a "Canterbury Harbour Committee".
- (2) The Canterbury Harbour Committee shall be responsible for:
- (a) Navigation and safety within those areas within harbour limits for which the Canterbury Regional Council is, from time to time, responsible; and
- (b) Any other matter associated with the regulation of those areas, other than maritime planning; and
- (c) Such other functions as the Council considers appropriate.
- (3) The persons appointed by the Canterbury Regional Council to the Canterbury Harbour Committee established under this clause shall include not less than 2 persons:
  - (a) Who are not members of that Council; but
- (b) Who, in the opinion of the Council, have knowledge that will assist the work of the committee.

#### 22 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquaters of the Canterbury Regional Council shall be located in Christchurch.

## 23 REGIONAL SERVICE CENTRE

The Canterbury Regional Council shall establish and maintain a regional service delivery centre in Timaru.

## 24 RATING

- (1) Without limiting the powers of the Canterbury Regional Council under the Rating Powers Act 1988 to make and levy any rate under a different system of rating, the system of rating in the Canterbury Region shall be the capital value system.
- (2) The Canterbury Regional Council shall exercise within the Canterbury Region or any part thereof:
- (a) Any rating powers possessed by any former authority; and
- (b) Any powers to make and levy assessments relating to the functions and powers possessed by any former authority.
- (3) Subject to subclause (7) of this clause, and until at least the 30th day of June 1992, all rates made by the Canterbury Regional Council shall be levied and collected by the constituent authorities of the Canterbury Region as if an agreement had been made under section 127(1) of the Rating Powers Act 1988.
- (4) Where a rate to which subclause (3) of this clause applies has been made on a different rating system to that which applies in the district of the constituent authority by which the rate is to be collected, that rate shall be levied and collected by the constituent authority:
- (a) On the system of rating in force in the district of the constituent authority; or
- (b) On the system of rating upon which the rate was made by the Canterbury Regional Council.
- (5) Where any rate to which subclause (3) of this clause applies is made by the Canterbury Regional Council in respect to an area of benefit, it shall be levied and collected by the constituent authority or authorities within which that area of