benefit is located and, where appropriate, according to any graduated scale applying to that rate.

- (6) Subject to subclause (7) of this clause, the Canterbury Regional Council shall, for the purpose of:
- (a) Reimbursing each constituent authority for costs incurred in the levying and collecting of rates (including goods and services tax); and
- (b) Paying reasonable remuneration for clerical and other work.

pay to each constituent authority an amount equal to 2 percent of the total amount of rates, including goods and services tax, collected by that constituent authority on behalf of that Council.

- (7) The Canterbury Regional Council and the constituent authorities may, by unanimous agreement, resolve:
- (a) That, at any time after the 1st day of July 1990, that Council shall levy and collect all or any rates directly; or
- (b) That, at any time after the 1st day of July 1990, the amount payable by that Council to each constituent authority, pursuant to subclause (6) of this clause, may be increased or decreased or calculated in accordance with a formula not based upon a percentage.

#### 25 REGIONAL PLANNING

- (1) The Canterbury Regional Council shall not be required to prepare a new regional planning scheme immediately.
- (2) The approved regional planning schemes and the proposed regional planning schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the approved, or as the case may be, the proposed, regional planning scheme of the Canterbury Region.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its regional planning scheme or any change or variation thereof, then subject to any resolution of the Canterbury Regional Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Canterbury Regional Council, and may be adopted and acted upon by it.

#### **26 CIVIL DEFENCE**

The operative regional civil defence plans of the former Canterbury Region, the Aorangi Region, the Coastal-North Otago Region and the Marlborough Region shall continue in force in those areas included in the Canterbury Region until a new plan is approved for the whole region, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

## **27 VESTING OF PROPERTY**

- (1) Except as otherwise provided in this order, all property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Canterbury Region is hereby vested in the corporation of the Canterbury Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) Except as otherwise provided in this order, all property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority other than those former authorities named in paragraphs (z) to (af) of clause 10 of this order, and situated in a region in which that former authority is not also a former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the Canterbury Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

### 28 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Canterbury Regional Council by clause 27 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Canterbury Regional Council".

### 29 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Canterbury Region.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
  - (a) The Canterbury United Council; and
  - (b) The Aorangi United Council; and
- (c) The North Canterbury Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (d) The South Canterbury Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (e) The Waitaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
  - (f) The Lyttelton Harbour Board; and
  - (g) The Timaru Harbour Board; and
  - (h) The Amuri District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (i) The Malvern District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (j) The Ellesmere District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (k) The Banks Peninsula District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (I) The Cheviot District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (m) The Christchurch City District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (n) The Hurunui District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (o) The Paparua District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (p) The Rangiora District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (q) The Ashburton District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (r) The Strathallan District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (s) The Mackenzie District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (t) The Waimate District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (u) The North Canterbury Pest Destruction Board; and
  - (v) The Central Canterbury Pest Destruction Board; and
  - (w) The South Canterbury Pest Destruction Board; and
  - (x) The Ashburton Pest Destruction Board; and
  - (y) The South Canterbury Wallaby Board; and
  - (z) the North Canterbury Nassella Tussock Board.

# **30 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE**

The transitional committee for the Canterbury Region shall consist of

- (a) An independent person elected by the voting members of the transitional committee to be the Chairperson of the committee.
- (b) Two members appointed by the Canterbury United Council; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Aorangi United Council;and
- (d) Two members appointed by the North Canterbury Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (e) Two members appointed by the South Canterbury Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (f) One member appointed by the Waitaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (g) One member appointed by the Lyttelton Harbour Board; and
- (h) One member appointed by the Timaru Harbour Board; and
- (i) Two members appointed jointly by the North Canterbury Nassella Tussock Board, the South Canterbury Wallaby Board, and those pest destruction boards and district noxious