plants authorities named in paragraphs (h) to (x) of clause 29(2) of this order; and

(j) One officer appointed by each local authority referred to in paragraphs (a) to (g) of clause 29(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(k) Two officers appointed jointly by those local authorities named in paragraphs (h) to (z) of clause 29(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(1) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 33 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(m) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of one of the local authorities named in clause 29(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

31 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Canterbury Region or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

32 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Canterbury Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

33 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Canterbury Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Canterbury Regional Council.

34 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Canterbury Region shall be the Canterbury United Council.

35 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The costs of the transitional committee for the Canterbury Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 29(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority, for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988, bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.

(2) For the purpose of this clause the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the Canterbury Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the Canterbury Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

36 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the Canterbury Region shall meet with:

(a) Each of the other transitional committees specified in this order; and

(b) The Mackenzie District Council and the Waimate District Council; and

(c) The pest destruction boards named in clause 29(2) of this order,

for the purpose of considering the most appropriate

arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Canterbury Regional Council by this order.

PART III

Hurunui District

37 CONSTITUTION OF HURUNUI DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Hurunui District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18052 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

38 HURUNUI DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Hurunui District Council", is hereby constituted for the Hurunui District.

39 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Amuri County Council; and
- (b) The Hurunui County Council; and
- (c) The Cheviot County Council; and
- (d) The Kaikoura County Council; and
- (e) The Cheviot Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

40 WARDS

(1) The Hurunui District is hereby divided into 6 wards.

(2) Those 6 wards are:

(a) The Hanmer Springs Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18053 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(b) The Amuri Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18054 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(c) The Cheviot Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18055 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(d) The Glenmark Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18057 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(e) The Hurunui Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18056 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

(f) The Amberley Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18058 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

41 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Hurunui District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 9 members.

(2) The members of the Hurunui District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) One member shall be elected by the electors of the the Hanmer Springs Ward; and

(b) Two members shall be elected by the electors the Amuri Ward; and

(c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Cheviot Ward; and

(d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Glenmark Ward; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Hurunui Ward; and

(f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Amberley Ward.