Hurunui District Council by clause 52 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Hurunui District Council".

## **54 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE**

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Hurunui District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
  - (a) The Amuri County Council; and
  - (b) The Hurunui County Council; and
  - (c) The Cheviot County Council; and
  - (d) The Kaikoura County Council.

# 55 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Hurunui District shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Hurunui County Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Amuri County Council; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Cheviot County Council; and
- (d) One member appointed by the Kaikoura County Council; and
- (e) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in paragraphs (a) to (d) of clause 54(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (f) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 58 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (g) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 54(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

# **56 NO CASTING VOTE**

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Hurunui District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

# 57 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Hurunui District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

# 58 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Hurunui District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Hurunui District Council.

### 59 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Hurunui District shall be the Hurunui County Council.

### **60 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE**

The costs of the transitional committee for the Hurunui District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 54(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each

local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in Hurunui District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in Hurunui District.

# 61 CONSULTATION WITH CHEVIOT RESERVE BOARD

- (1) The transitional committee for the Hurunui District shall consult with the Cheviot Reserve Board for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for the Cheviot Reserve.
- (2) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Hurunui District considers it desirable that a committee of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Hurunui District Council that it establish such a committee of management.

#### **PART IV**

#### Waimakariri District

# 62 CONSTITUTION OF WAIMAKARIRI DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Waimakariri District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18059 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

### 63 WAIMAKARIRI DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Waimakariri District Council", is hereby constituted for the Waimakariri District

### **64 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Rangiora District Council; and
- (b) The Oxford County Council; and
- (c) The Kaiapoi Borough Council; and
- (d) The Hurunui County Council, and
- (e) The Waimakariri-Ashley Water Supply Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### 65 WARDS

- (1) The Waimakariri District is hereby divided into 4 wards.
- (2) Those 4 wards are:
- (a) The Rangiora Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18062 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (b) The Oxford Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18060 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (c) The Kaiapoi Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18063 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (d) The Ashley-Eyre Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18061 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

## 66 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Waimakariri District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 13 members.
- (2) The members of the Waimakariri District Council to be