authority and situated in the Waimakariri District is hereby vested in the corporation of the Waimakariri District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than the Hurunui County Council and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Waimakariri District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (3) Notwithstanding anything else in this clause, all property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of the former Hurunui County and used for the purposes of the Ashley Water Supply Scheme, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Hurunui District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

78 TITLE TO PROPERTY

13 JUNE

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Waimakariri District Council by clause 77 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Waimakariri District Council".

79 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Waimakariri District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Rangiora District Council; and
 - (b) The Oxford County Council: and
 - (c) The Kaiapoi Borough Council; and
 - (d) The Hurunui County Council.

80 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee shall consist of:

- (a) An independent person elected by the voting members of the transitional committee to be the Chairperson of the committee.
- (b) Four members appointed by the Rangiora District Council; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Kaiapoi Borough Council; and
- (d) Two members appointed by the Oxford County Council; and
- (e) One member appointed by the Hurunui County Council; and
- (f) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 79(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (g) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 83 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (h) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 79(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

81 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Waimakariri District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

82 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Waimakariri District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee

from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

83 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Waimakariri District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Waimakariri District Council.

84 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Waimakariri District shall be the Rangiora District Council.

85 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Waimakariri District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 79(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Waimakariri District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in Waimakariri District.

PART V

Selwyn District

86 CONSTITUTION OF SELWYN DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Selwyn District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18064 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

87 SELWYN DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority to be known as "The Selwyn District Council", is hereby constituted for the Selwyn District.

88 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Malvern County Council; and
- (b) The Ellesmere County Council; and
- (c) The Paparua County Council; and
- (d) The Ellesmere Reserve Board; and
- (e) The Lincoln Park Reserve Board; and (f) The Springston Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Springston South Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Greendale Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Hororata Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Kowai Pass Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Sheffield Reserve Board; and
- (1) The Mead Reserve Board; and
- (m) The Waihora Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

89 WARDS

(1) The Selwyn District is hereby divided into 6 wards.