- (2) Those 6 wards are:
- (a) The Sheffield Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18065 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District; and
- (b) The West Melton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18067 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District; and
- (c) The Darfield Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18066 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District; and
- (d) The Lincoln-Prebbleton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18070 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District; and
- (e) The Leeston Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18069 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District; and
- (f) The Rolleston Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18068 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

90 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Selwyn District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 13 members.
- (2) The members of the Selwyn District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Sheffield Ward; and
- (b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the West Melton Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Darfield Ward; and
- (d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Lincoln-Prebbleton Ward; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Leeston Ward; and
- (f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Rolleston Ward.

91 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Selwyn District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Selwyn District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Ellesmere County.
- (2) The first election of the Selwyn District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

92 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Selwyn District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

93 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Selwyn District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 107 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Selwyn District Council.

94 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Selwyn District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and

- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Selwyn District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (iii) Any local Act relating to the Selwyn District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

95 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The location of the administration headquarters of the Selwyn District Council shall be determined by those former authorities named in paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of clause 88 of this order.

Provided that if no such determination is made prior to the 1st day of November 1989 the headquarters of the Selwyn District Council shall be located in the existing office of the Paparua County Council, at Sockburn.

96 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Selwyn District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Darfield; and
- (b) Leeston,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

97 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
 - (a) The area of-
 - (i) The Leeston Ward; and
 - (ii) The Lincoln-Prebbleton Ward; and
 - (iii) The Rolleston Ward,
- to be known as "The Lincoln Community"; and
 - (b) The area of-
 - (i) The Sheffield Ward; and
 - (ii) The Darfield Ward; and
 - (iii) The West Melton Ward,
- to be known as "The Darfield Community".
- (2) The community board for the Lincoln Community shall consist of:
- (a) Two members elected by the electors of the Leeston Ward; and
- (b) Two members elected by the electors of the Lincoln-Prebbleton Ward; and
- (c) Two members elected by the electors of the Rolleston Ward; and
- (d) Four persons elected, from time to time, as members of the Selwyn District Council, representing the wards comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Selwyn District Council to the community board.
- (3) The community board for the Darfield Community shall consist of:
- (a) Two members elected by the electors of the Sheffield Ward; and
- (b) Two members elected by the electors of the Darfield Ward; and
- (c) Two members elected by the electors of the West Melton Ward; and
- (d) Four persons elected, from time to time, as members of the Selwyn District Council, representing the wards comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Selwyn District Council to the community board.