The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Selwyn District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Selwyn District.

110 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the Selwyn District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Selwyn District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Selwyn District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Selwyn District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART VI

Christchurch City

111 CONSTITUTION OF CHRISTCHURCH CITY

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Christchurch City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18071 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

112 CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority to be known as "The Christchurch City Council", is hereby constituted for the Christchurch City.

113 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means-
 - (a) The former Christchurch City Council; and
 - (b) The Riccarton Borough Council; and
 - (c) The Waimairi District Council; and
 - (d) The Heathcote County Council; and
 - (e) The Paparua County Council; and
 - (f) The Rangiora District Council; and
 - (g) The Christchurch Drainage Board; and
 - (h) The Christchurch Transport Board; and
 - (i) The Christchurch Town Hall Board of Management,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

- "Former Christchurch City" means the Christchurch City in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Christchurch City Council" means the Christchurch City Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Christchurch City" means the Christchurch City constituted by this order:
- "Christchurch City Council" means the Christchurch City Council constituted by this order.

114 WARDS

- (1) The Christchurch City is hereby divided into 12 wards.
- (2) Those 12 wards are:
- (a) The Burwood Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18077 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (b) The Fendalton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18075 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (c) The Ferrymead Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18083 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (d) The Hagley Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18079 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (e) The Heathcote Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18082 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (f) The Papanui Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18073 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (g) The Pegasus Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18080 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (h) The Riccarton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18078 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (i) The Shirley Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18076 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (j) The Spreydon Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18081 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (k) The Waimairi Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18072 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (I) The Wigram Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18074 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

115 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Christchurch City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 24 members.
- (2) The members of the Christchurch City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Burwood Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Fendalton Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Ferrymead Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Hagley Ward; and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Heathcote Ward; and
- (f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Papanui Ward; and
- (g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Pegasus Ward; and
- (h) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Riccarton Ward; and
- (i) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Shirley Ward; and