District Council", is hereby constituted for the Banks Peninsula District.

## 138 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Akaroa County Council; and
- (b) The Wairewa County Council; and
- (c) The Lyttelton Borough Council; and
- (d) The Mount Herbert County Council; and
- (e) The Le Bons Bay Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Little Akaloa Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Okains Bay Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Pigeon Bay Reserve Board; and
- (i) Subject to Part XII of this order, the Lyttelton Harbour Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### **139 WARDS**

- (1) The Banks Peninsula District is hereby divided into 3 wards.
- (2) Those 3 wards are:
- (a) The Lyttelton-Mount Herbert Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18085 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (b) The Wairewa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18086 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (c) The Akaroa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18087 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

## 140 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Banks Peninsula District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 10 members.
- (2) The members of the Banks Peninsula District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Wairewa Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Akaroa Ward.

# 141 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Banks Peninsula District, the Returning Officer and principal administrative officer for the Banks Peninsula District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and principal administrative officer for the Lyttelton Borough.
- (2) The first election for the Banks Peninsula District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

## 142 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Banks Peninsula District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that  $\operatorname{Council}$ ; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## **143 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Banks Peninsula District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 157 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Banks Peninsula District Council.

# 144 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties and powers of the Banks Peninsula District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—  $\,$ 
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Banks Peninsula District Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Banks Peninsula District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps and other harbour facilities formerly the responsibility of the Lyttelton Harbour Board and transferred to the Banks Peninsula District by Part XII of this order.
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

## 145 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

Until the Banks Peninsula District Council otherwise resolves, the administration headquarters of the Council shall be located in Lyttelton.

## 146 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Banks Peninsula District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain, a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Duvauchelle in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order; and
- (b) Little River, providing services to be determined by the Banks Peninsula District Council.

### **147 COMMUNITIES**

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Lyttelton-Mount Herbert Ward, to be be known as "The Lyttelton-Mount Herbert Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Akaroa Ward and the Wairewa Ward to be known as "The Akaroa-Wairewa Community".
- (2) The community board for the Lyttelton-Mount Herbert Community shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) Four persons elected, from time to time, as members of the Banks Peninsula District Council, representing the Lyttelton-Mount Herbert Ward, and appointed by the Banks Peninsula District Council to the community board.
- (a) Four members elected by the electors of the Akaroa Ward; and
- (b) Two members elected by the electors of the Wairewa Ward; and  $\ensuremath{\mathsf{W}}$
- (c) Four persons elected from time to time as members of the Banks Peninsula District Council, representing the wards comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Banks Peninsula District Council to the community board.
- (4) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Lyttleton Borough.
- (5) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.